You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Microinjections - The Creation of Transgenic Mice (My Research, Vol. 6)

in #science6 years ago

I mean, how do you think they achieve something like this: https://www.nature.com/news/crispr-fixes-disease-gene-in-viable-human-embryos-1.22382

But as far as I am aware, it's not legal to implant human embryos with genetic changes, yet. Has a lot of potential for the future tho!

Sort:  

Hey, I was thinking the same while reading this!
My interest is vested, since I have been dreaming of combining mine and my girlfriends genes so that we could have babies. I know, it might sound far fetched, but I've heard it could be possible over time. Do you have any knowledge about this @suesa? Could it happen the same way (obviously without killing the other female), that you insert some genes to the other zygote with a small pipette and then put the whole thing back to the other ones uterus? And do you even think this is possible?

If I ever wanna have babies I would like it to have genes from the both of us, so I rely on you scientists, to make it possible!

It is absolutely possible to isolate human egg cells (it's done all the time for in vitro fertilization) and .... well, do in vitro fertilization. What's illegal in most countries is making directed genetic changes to them, aka what I've been doing to the mice.

In theory, it would work the same. Isolate egg cells, bring them together with sperm, wait, inject stuff, wait, transfer them to a woman's uterus. Wait 9 months, congratulations, you have a baby!

Now, I'm assuming you're female, or else the part about "the babies having genes from you and your girlfriend" wouldn't make much sense.

There actually has been a case where researchers created a mouse with two mothers (Read about it here) but so far, it has not been applied to humans. Might also not yet be possible with our technology, but could be possible in the future.

"What's illegal in most countries is making directed genetic changes…" That's what I thought.
This should be researched more, so that some day it would be legal. And I wouldn't mind that some day being soon, since like my mum happily likes to remind me on monthly basis, I have soon passed the suitable reproduction age, lol.
And yes, I am female just like my better half. Not too easy to get babies together even if there was genes only from one us. So maybe I'll just ditch the idea all in all...

How about editing of human embryos right in the womb? Is it legal yet?
I've read about that.

I'm not sure how you plan to do that

I stumbled upon this article.
https://www.technologyreview.com/s/608350/first-human-embryos-edited-in-us/
Maybe you can take a look at it in your spare time

Bookmarked it

The video looks a lot like what I've been doing! Interesting article.

Wow! That's great. Maybe you can make a video of yours too :)

Maybe insert a very, very thin pipette in there as well? :)

That one can't be sharp tho :P And it's hard to fit a microscope into a womb.... Hmm