Friday SCI-Day VIDEO: World Ending Asteroid Simulation

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Why not end off the week with a mesmerizing science video? Introducing a new (hopefully) weekly segment! A crazy and mindblowing science video for you every Friday.

The End of Earth

This weeks video is one of my personal favorites and a must watch for any Pink Floyd lovers out there! The video this week answers the question of "what would an extinction level meteor collision look like on earth?". An amazingly well put together animation by those at Discovery Channel that left me personally, in awe the first time I watched it. It showcases the pure destructive power of nature, while somehow displaying a type of cosmic beauty. Originally I had posted this segment on the science-trail account, but as I've decided to focus more on my main account, for the time being, I thought I would try reviving the idea. Some may want to turn down their speakers a bit, but again for those of you who love floyd, you better blast it!!

The description recounts the video beat by beat, telling us exactly how this event unfolds

0:12 An asteroid with a diameter of 500 km.
0:47 Destination: The Pacific Ocean.
1:17 The impact peels the 10 km crust off the surface.
1:28 The shockwave travels at hypersonic speeds.
1:53 Debris is blasted across into low Earth orbit,
2:11 and returns to destroy the surface of the Earth.
2:55 The firestorm encircles the Earth,
3:05 vaporizing all life in its way.
3:34 Within one day, the surface of the Earth is uninhabitable.
4:19 The evidence shows that this has happened at least six times in Earth's history.

Pretty amazing right? Not much else to say... A beautiful video that makes art out of pure destruction.

Thanks as always for watching! If you enjoyed the video, why not drop an upvote or a follow for more! It's always appreciated!

U5du7oHWNNkRsQpBk5o1XBdpanrUGKW.gif

More Content by Yours Truly

Devilman Crybaby: Rapping in Anime
The Burrito Question
Not All Mice Go To Heaven

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://steemit.com/science/@science-trail/sci-day-1-beautiful-science-videos-brought-to-you-by-science-trail

Yep!! That's me! Accreditation in the article as "Post by: Trismegistuz" can be found.