You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Season Challenge: Trees Changing

that odd shaped bulbous thing?

it's called a Burl
Usually caused by an injury (lost branch, etc), insects, or fungus and the tree grows around and protects the injury or stressed part.
When it is cut, the grains and look inside is often amazing. Many fine woodworkers love finding Burlwood, and making some wonderful hand crafted piece from it.

Sort:  

Thanks for info @bluefinstudios. It’s on the property. I’ll have to see what I can do with it. 😊 although the most I have ever done with wood is make a walking stick.

if you did cut it, I bet slicing it across to make a bunch of discs
shand and polish then, stain them.

It would make a wonderful bunch of wood coasters, or wood cutting boards, if you seal the wood and stain with food safe sealer

Thanks for the great ideas. Cuttting board or coasters sound good. I will let you know ( make a post) if I can do anything with it. It’s certainly too big a burl for top of a walking stick. 😊

Exactly. I should have read your comment before I typed mine out lol!

that's ok....
... my goal on Steemit is to see how much angst I can cause, by being sneaky and reading minds then posting comments, before others can type!

LOL well played then :)