Beth's Cafe: Worth the trip?

in #seattle7 years ago

We were in the Seattle area and so of course several people said, "You HAVE to go to Beth's Cafe!" I'd heard of it. It had been on Man Vs Food on the Food Network, after all. I just had never been to Seattle to go for myself. And once we got to Seattle and found out just how far the cafe was from where we were, I was less inclined to check it out.

However, we found ourselves traveling to the northern suburbs, and had to check it out.

First let me warn you, it's not easy to get to. One-way streets, no street parking, and congestion made me question our decision. But we were in the neighborhood, and finally found it. Then found a parking spot only a block and a half away. Score!

Beth's is a nondescript looking front that looks more like a bar than a diner. Even after we entered I asked just to make sure we were in the right place. Let me just say it's the very epitome of a small town greasy spoon diner. Their wallpaper consists of drawings people have made in commemoration of their visits.

20170804_103205.jpg

While they have a pretty good menu, the big draw is their selection of omelets and hash browns. They have two sizes of omelets: 6 eggs or 12 eggs. The hash browns are "AYCE" and served as a bed for the omelet.

We opted to share a "small" omelet with ham, swiss, and mushrooms.

20170804_103956.jpg

Yes, there's a plate full of hash browns under those eggs. And yes, I had two more servings. What can I say? I love hash browns.

The servers are friendly enough but spend a lot of time running because the place is popular. The food is the big draw, and yes it was well worth the time and trouble it took to find the place. No, I didn't leave a drawing because I can't draw.

So I highly recommend visiting Beth's Cafe in Seattle. Just leave your expectations of fancy digs at home because this is a down and dirty greasy spoon diner (albeit a clean one!). But do bring your appetite!

Sort:  

Congratulations @cmdecker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!