Sort:  

No way! Have you had cursive skills like that since you were a kid or something you aquired later in life? I started righting with a fountain pen a while ago and one of my goals is actually to improve my cursive handwriting.

I've been thinking of taking up writing with a fountain pen as it looks really fun - and cool!

I couldn't recommend it highly enough! There's something super satisfying about watching the ink flow out on the page and knowing that the pen will be with you for many years and possibly earn you your fortune.

With a single Wirt pen I have earned the family's living for many years. With two, I could have grown rich. - Mark Twain, Letter to Wirt Fountain Pen

Couple of downsides: Have to be a bit more mindful with your paper choice, most inks aren't waterproof, so don't go signing contracts with it. Not great to use on planes, air pressure makes them weep a little.

I use the Lamy Safari (the Al Star is the same pen in aluminium), after a bit of research it seemed both the fine and medium tips (I have the fine) were a solid recommendation for a first timer. Probably about 30 bucks in the US