Downtown Seattle during blue hour...

in #seattle6 years ago (edited)

If you've done any research for the "best photography spots in Seattle" - Kerry Park will be at the top of any list. I heard there's always a ton of photographers there so I dragged my wife yesterday and we camped out for 4 hours before sunset. I would have stayed another hour to get the city in pitch black - but my wife was mentally done. Plus it didn't help that it was cold, both our phones almost drained and there's no bathroom there.

As you can imagine I took a TON of photos from this spot and I'll be sure to share them with you sometime next week.

2018_30_0_sec_at_f_13_ISO_50_20180531_5_D3_4865

LocationSeattle, WA
Year2018
CameraCanon 5d Mark iii
Lens70-200mm f2.8
Shutter Speed30s
Aperturef13
ISO50

DTube Episode 3 - Introducing - Mikey Colon Photography SESSIONS. Taking you behind the scenes.

DTube Episode 2 - How to be in your vacation photos!

Check out my first photography tutorial on DTube!

U5dqw6j_L8_Ytv_NZKhm5kx_Th_S4z_Em_S93_B_640x480

STEEMIT_PLUG
👉🏻 All images are lovingly taken by me.

👉🏻 Follow for more awesome images like this sent to your feed daily. HUGS

Sort:  

I’ve always loved this viewpoint. I’ve crawled on the statue to watch sunset before. lol did you check out the neigbborhood behind the park? The house are gorgeous!

I know. Some of the houses are off the hook and I can't imagine what the inside looks like!

I don't know if you're close to Seattle, but if you're down to link up at night today (Friday the 31) or tomorrow night to shoot some long exposure images let me know. I have 3 spots in mind and it'd be cool to link up with a fellow Steemian.

I’m actually down in Oregon or I’d totally take you up on the invite! Are you familiar with gasworks park? My post about overgrowth last week has some photos of the place if you aren’t and would like to see what it looks like. (I’d tag the post but Steemit is being funky)

Just commission one of those little planes that lands on the water! LOL

I saw Gasworks park but it doesn't interest my wife and you know how that goes. One must pick their battles.

But after seeing your overgrowth pics I'll see if I can squeeze it in.

If you use busy.org, you can see when people tag / mention you. I'd suggest you check it out.

Plus while I have you here - I've got to give you props on your photography + editing skills! Many people can be in the right spot to get "nice pictures", but aren't very good at processing their images. 😜

Awh wouldn't that be cool!

I'm actually really fortunate since my lady loves abandoned places as much as I do! :)
Aside from the abandoned structure at the park, It does offer amazing city views that I'm sure your wife would enjoy.

Thanks for the suggestion!

Geez! Thanks man. Thats really cool to hear from another photog. Cheers!

I've been borderline torturing her the last few days. But she's been patient as she knows it's what I do.

I've even put her to work to help me film some DTube / YouTube videos. The funny thing is out here it doesn't get pitch black until 11am so I'm flying solo tonight.

As for your photography - I really dig your style and editing. Keep up the good work!


Awesome Work!

I've verified that your photography is original, and that means it's so good that I had to check.

Your post has just been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos - The nonprofit service that verifies and promotes original photographers on Steem.


Your photography will be featured in the 'Today's Lucky Photos' showcase alongside numerous other photographers. Tag your posts with "yourluckyphotos" for a better chance of being featured.


Great shots, as soon as i get off my ass and get a passport I am going to visit Washington

Definitely come in the spring / summer as the locals complain about the winters here. Its cold - but it doesn't snow much.

Plus I see you're into flowers / buds. FYI it's legal here for recreation.

I used to fear trying to score bud on the streets of the USA, I visited my mom in Florida and was afraid to even try

There's plenty of head shops here. You'd love it!

Awesome shot! Resteemed!

Thanks for your support!

Amazing shot! Also, your signature/graphic game is strong!!

Thanks - people think it's a font, but it's my cursive handwriting.

PS Thanks for the reSteem!

No way! Have you had cursive skills like that since you were a kid or something you aquired later in life? I started righting with a fountain pen a while ago and one of my goals is actually to improve my cursive handwriting.

I've been thinking of taking up writing with a fountain pen as it looks really fun - and cool!

I couldn't recommend it highly enough! There's something super satisfying about watching the ink flow out on the page and knowing that the pen will be with you for many years and possibly earn you your fortune.

With a single Wirt pen I have earned the family's living for many years. With two, I could have grown rich. - Mark Twain, Letter to Wirt Fountain Pen

Couple of downsides: Have to be a bit more mindful with your paper choice, most inks aren't waterproof, so don't go signing contracts with it. Not great to use on planes, air pressure makes them weep a little.

I use the Lamy Safari (the Al Star is the same pen in aluminium), after a bit of research it seemed both the fine and medium tips (I have the fine) were a solid recommendation for a first timer. Probably about 30 bucks in the US