You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 68

in #secretsoforganplaying4 years ago (edited)

Thank you, Auke. I appreciate your response to what I wrote above. It is very discouraging to take the time, as I did, to write a thoughtful and appreciative analysis of other people's music only to have my words go not just without a response, but without an acknowledgement of any kind. It happens to me too often. I think, if I participate in the contest in the future, I will stick to just voting for the top three (or not). Thank you for treating me with professional respect and courtesy.

Sort:  

It's probably not only human nature for you, but could quite probably be a language thing as well. English is not my native language, and the same goes for more participants in the contest. As such it takes often a bit of time to express myself in English, even after all those years writing for my website and on Steem/Hive.
Lack of response is perhaps a loss of words as well to express oneself properly in a difficult language as English (imagine you had to write your comment in Lithuanian or in Dutch... 😃 )

That's a good point. Whether or not it's true I don't know (and, all things considered, I suppose it doesn't really matter either way), but it is a fair criticism.

For me English is not native language like for Partitura. So sometimes it is difficult to write an answer or even to understand a comment (espaecially when there are a lot of specifical words). It is nice to see your comments about my playing. Thank you!