An Introverts Journey to The Best Version of Himself #1

in #selfimprovement7 years ago (edited)

This is my first post on Steemit and it's to describe my current journey (career & social) on how to be able to handle people and everyday interactions. I have been reading up on books and online that are helping me slowly achieve my goals and I want to share what I've learned and am still learning thoughout these series. 

So, what does the word Introvert mean? The word comes from Latin intro-, "inward," and vertere, "turning." It describes a person who tends to turn inward mentally. 

In general Introverts avoid large groups of people when possible, feeling more energized by time alone. The opposite of an introvert is an extrovert, who finds energy in interactions with others.

Clearing up misconceptions

  • Introversion is NOT a fancy name for lacking social skills.
  • Being an Introvert does NOT mean that I don't like to talk.
  • Being an Introvert does NOT mean that I want to live all alone.
  • NOT all Introverts have the same behavior (some are more Introvert than others)


 wikipedia commons

What its like to be an Introvert for me

I don't like to talk in front of a group of people, talk in loud environments or talk about silly things that some would call "small talk". 

I enjoy talking 1 on 1 with people and talk about important issues in our lives, hear what issues they are working through and how I could help. 

That is why I believe that Introverts treasure the close relationships they have worked so hard  to make.

 Advantages of being an Introvert in the Workplace

  1. We think before we talk, making more mental connections, so answers are likely to contain more substancewe than others who just say whatever comes to mind first.
  2. We choose our words carefully, cut the bull**, so others understand what we are saying. 
  3. We can be quite observant and taking everything in and process it. 

The Importance of Small Talk (Silly Talk)

Even if i don't like doing it or doing it totally naturally, I understand that small talk is an important aspect of today's society and being able to master small talk and appear confident while doing it, can really help people with their "image" and therefore with their career and networking.

If 2 people apply for a job and are equally skilled and with the same experience, more often then not, the hiring manager will hire the person that was more easy to talk to and appear more confident and comfortable during the small talk. 

Don't get me wrong, I don't think that if you can't small talk you can't succeed, but I do think that it can give an extra push if mastered.

So why not learn a trick or two from the extroverts? Developing slightly more outgoing traits can help you stand your ground in busy crowds of people or in large group company meetings. Here are some ways to boost your confidence:

  • Notice and copy social skills of outgoing people you admire. Social skills can be developed and in time it will come naturally.
  • Speak out. I know its not as easy as it sounds but the more you make your voice heard, the more confident you will be and the easier it will become.
  • Ask open-ended rather than closed-ended, yes or no questions. Throw the ball to the other person and let them do all the talking.
  • Don’t let yourself retreat from the world and avoid situations you think you might enjoy. Stay positive and remember you can always leave if it’s becoming difficult.

Introverts Unite! 

Share your thoughts and tips below on how to small talk or try to improve yourself and let me know if you would like me to continue to share my thoughts and learnings on Steemit!

 


Sort:  

Good post! I used to be extremely shy. I wasn't comfortable with crowds or social interaction with new people. I still enjoy solitude. I still prefer small groups over large crowds but I enjoy meeting new people, I enjoy conversation and socializing. It was a change that happened over time.

Thanks! Indeed its an ongoing change that needs to be developed and hopefully others can benefit from our learnings and experiences. Thanks for the upvote!

Introverts do get a raw deal in the workplace. Over the years I've frequently found myself talked over and discounted by loud mouth extroverts who have little value to add. Standing up for yourself and asserting your opinions somewhat forcefully but politely is a good way to put over enthusiastic extroverts in their place, because they don't expect it and they suddenly realise that extroversion can also be a weakness.
On another point - blogging is great for introverts ;-)

Yes, exactly, and this is why I have started this journey on self-improving. At the end of the day if all your great ideas and deep thinking just stay in your head then its not useful.