SEO Casestudy Day 6 - Monetizing Beyond Steemit

in #seo7 years ago

What if you could make money from you steemit account without hoping to make it to the hot and trending section of Steemit? This is what I am attempting with the SEO Casestudy of my pet account @ucluelet.

Day after day, I am working on improving the link profile of this account so that down the road I can be in a position to provide a service that people would be willing to pay for. The strategy I am thinking about is what I am outlining below.

Pre-Requisite Of This Monetization Strategy

The pre-requisite for this strategy is to

  1. Have an account name that is relevant to your market
  2. Have a domain with high authority
  3. Have an account with a high page authority through SEO optimization

Thankfully, because we are blogging on Steemit.com, we have number 2 covered (which is usually the hardest thing to achieve). Number one and number three need you to be very clear about your target and to stick to it even if you don't get much rewards at the beginning.

Building Page Authority

At the beginning, you will have to produce your own content on a fairly consistent basis so that Google starts liking you for being an active blog. Then, building social media profiles with readership would be also a very very good thing to do, it will help you get links and also viewership for your content which in the end has a lot of value.

So What Is This Strategy?

I call it: Pay Me To Post Your Content On My Blog

Look at this fiver gig: https://www.fiverr.com/sureranker/do-travel-guest-post-on-upto-da90-travel-blog

Basically, they sell you the possibility of guest posting on a website that is niche relevant and that has high domain authority. Here are their guidelines:


  • Provide unique and quality article(s) 500+ words
  • Articles can contain 2 dofollow links to your site (I will add another link to an authority site)
  • Spun or duplicate content will not be accepted
  • I will add relevant videos/images to your post
  • Your travel guest post(s) will be permanent
  • You must provide your anchor text and your targeted URL

Topics should be related to: Travel, Tourism, Hotels, Car Rentals, Flights, Tours, Vacations, Rentals, Transport etc.


Pricing Strategy

screenshot-www.fiverr.com-2017-07-17-10-49-55.png

Benefits of this strategy

One of the hardest thing to do when you start a niche blog is to find a continuous supply of fresh content. Some people pay in order to have article creator or journalist write for them. When you start having multiple niche blogs, it becomes a problem.

Now, rather than paying people to write for you, they pay you to post their content on your website. Brilliant!

On top of that, it helps with the page authority of your blog.

Conclusion

It is easy to become dependent on Steemit payouts. But one thing that I've learned in my year blogging here is that payouts are highly volatile. You can be on the top of the world for a while only to fall out of favor. Diversifying your sources of income can only bring more stability to your enterprise in the long run.

Sort:  

Unfortunately, I've been told by SEO experts that paying for backlinks on these types of pages actually can hurt us because Google may see it as spammy.

@donkeypong You are rightly advised on that.

Google is very strict for those who pay for the links. Actually, paying for links mean you're taking the risk of "De-indexation". It's not rare, it's a common practice by people and they often get their ass kicked.

Another point is that, There are a lot of idiots in Fiverr (call them SEO beginner) who review service as "Outstanding experience" or "Good seller" or "delivered on time". Actually, delivery is not an issue. Link's effect in the long term is what matters. If you are penalized by Google, then you'd have to try to remove those links, and with fiverr service, you have no such option.

Google is strict for OBL and CF ratio too. I'm planning to explain those factors in Off-Page tutorial series which will come out soon. I am just busy in some personal projects.

But @cryptoctopus highlighted the importance of view-based incentive in Steemit and I really appreciate it. I am sure it will help Steemit greatly to attract new people since people will work hard to promote their content.

I am following you now and looking forward to what you are going write. You are right of course but I don't see how google could figure which articles are being paid for and the ones that are not when they look exactly the same from the outside.

I checked her blogs are they are very SEO compliant. Guest blogging is still a strategy that works.

Google Webmaster Guidelines have always advised that site owners NOT pay for backlinks. That being said, if the blog posts are good quality, good length, and relevant to the overall topic of the blog, then you should be okay. Also the guest posts should not have a ton of links to the client's website.

One other thing to keep in mind is that links placed in Steemit content are automatically nofollow links.

I will correct you on the NoFollow aspect. Once you hit a certain amount of reputation, your links are DoFollow.

Can you explain this a bit more? Where is the threshold?

Well, I don't think it will work.

I have a few large pages on facebook with niche markets. If you want to chat about prices and pages send me an email. [email protected] Over 5 million fans.

Yup! Let's talk! :-)

Hit me up anytime. I check my email daily.

sounds good! I'll seraching about that soon i'll join it thanks man :)

Lesson I learn from this post is build authority around niche on high rank domain. Writing on steemit cut some work to build high authority domain.

Thank you for sharing your strategy.

Your SEO strategy is very good, i hope that people will recognize it's real value on steemit and take advantage of it.

Thanks for the information sir, i'm new in steemit, maybe i will try to make the best post and useful for others, :)
@cryptoctopus

seems pretty cool actually

Yes indeed very volatile. As i work on my regular job, i allot some of my free time and few funds here in Steemit. Unless you have a whale backing you up or you're a just an awesomely rich/ famous fellow, well be my guest, completely focus here in Steemit. Have a lot of options, atleast if something doesn't work well on you, you have other methods to earn and have a stable living.

DQmb2XLRnqy5netJri1pMXwqxB22MxujE4XakYcHeVUpQqx.gif

google will surely like you if you'll be using google adsense. Google will definitely put you on top of search queries. HAHA

nice it will surely help lots of new steemians to gain success in this plateform.

Very interesting, don't put all your eggs in one basket!

wow, this is such amazing strategy and ideas. thanks for sharing always. they are so useful

That's an interesting concept. I was originally thinking of just doing it with my own content but I could see down the road having paid content from other people in my niche. You would be making money on both ends too.

That's a great idea on how to make money blogging. I'm trying to build my PA as well.

Let me know how you are doing. Do you think that a common steemit.chat would be a good place to share ideas?

Well my PA is still 1 since my profile is new and it probably takes maybe 3 months to get an update. Steemit.chat is great but I'm mainly on discord these days. :)

This a great strategy leveraging one's own blog on Steemit. The more diversified the sources of income the better it is for a consistent remuneration month after month, without depending on one single source.

I have a question though - should the blog be niche specific or like it happens on Steemit with most blogs - can the blog be about different as well as varied topics?

For example, can the blog posts belong to varying niches like photography, bitcoin, blogging ... you get the idea.

It seems Google favors niche specific blogs and domain authority is also related to blogs with specific topics.

Thanks for the useful information! I have upvoted and have started following you too for more useful content.

In this strategy, you are selling backlinks. So what is most important is how relevant to a niche this backlink is. You also want the build your page authority of your blog around a particular topic (with relevant backlinks too).

Good postinanga and meaningful greetings from me @abupasi.alachy

I tell clients that I am happy to write about them on Steemit. It is actually a huge benefit for them. I don't ask for anything extra because I know I will earn rewards on Steemit. Yes, the payouts fluctuate wildly in USD terms but I want Steem.

For sure. For me it would be a way to acquire more STEEM too. :-)

I am beginner on SEO. This post is very helpful. Many thanks

@cryptoctopus thats very innovative strategy of getting good content to steemit. Perfect for those looking at steemit as additional source of income

Great advice. Look at many top youtubers and they're just now learning that very thing we the recent ad controversy. While we possibly won't suffer the samething thing here with no ads, as you said, you never know when you will fall out of favor.

The one that thrive were the one that were listener supported like Stephan Molyneux and Steven Crowder's Mug Club. The more ways they have to support themselves outside of the ad network, the more predictable their income will be.

Yep yep yep. Don't have to worry about falling out of favor as I think you stated.

want some steem for free but how?

Well said

OUTSTANDING SEO series @cryptoctopus because this is half of the value for bloggers that goes unnoticed by most. Even if posts do not make any money, they are much more likely to get seen. I love this series you are doing and upvoted all of them today! Thank you very much for the upvotes you have made on so many of my posts recently and for upvoting me as a witness! I will be reading your blog now as one of the first I check!

i think this strategy is very good, what is left is for people to recognize the real value of it and take advantage

Found this article linked from your other one, both have great insight! I decided to have my own blog and also do steemit, but i might have to look at content syndication in the future.

The 'Stache approves!

good post
plise followback...