Day 2: 7 Day Black and White Photo Challenge

fire hydrant (bw) 1.jpg



Why do this challenge?

Day 2
I stand by the pretty pictures statement.

Day 1
"You mean, aside from the "pretty pictures"? I've got seven days left in 2017."

and more importantly...

@jedau tagged me for the 7 Day Black and White Photo Challenge see his post.

Here are the rules:

7 black & white images that represent an aspect of your life (makes sense)
Present one image every day for seven days (as expected)
No people (I can live with that)
No explanation (whew!)
Nominate someone every day. Although anyone can join in, be sure to use the tag: #sevendaybnwchallenge as one of your five (do I have to?)
If you want to join in on the fun, let me know in the comments section! As for my nomination for today, drumroll please...

@apothecae



finleyexp 2.jpg

Twitter: mfinley80
SteemIt Intro: What's Up, STEEMIT?! I'm Monique Finley, a Blogger, Poet, and Author of the Free E-Serial: Terra Damnata!
1st Steemiversary: A Year of Hard Lessons, Heartache, and Healing
Serial Novel: Terra Damnata, Book 1 of The Pu'Shing Bhu'Tons Series

Sort:  

Sometimes I feel like fire hydrants are a real eye sore, but whenever I think of its purpose and how it goes about things, I can't help but be at awe. All the raw power and the pressure it holds at bay. The marvels of engineering right there. Such a simple looking thing with tons of complicated physics behind it.

Oh man! lol! I can see how someone might think them eyesores. I think they're beautiful...for all the reasons you've listed, plus they also remind us to have an emergency plan. Shit happens and little things like well-placed fire hydrants have the ability to limit the repercussions.

That emergency plan reason! That's one other thing that's admirable! I didn't even think of that!

Landscape is one of the things I've really kept my eye on while we travel the world. Perhaps my former English professor would get a chuckle out of that... we studied The Spectator and The Tatler which were papers by Addison and Steele written in the 1700s. These guys taught the middle class of the 1700s to have class. And they focused a lot on landscapes. I think they were a bunch of voyeurs just getting off on looking at shit.

None of their landscapes included emergency planning. They did a lot with slight curves and privacy nooks.

That's interesting! Might have to give them a look one of these days! I mean, your previous recommendation was so good! You have my faith when it comes to these things.