Little Cherine Book 10 - BPost060

If you do not allow your experience of me to guide you, then you will end up blaming me for everything that goes wrong while holding to your own efforts, all that goes right.





If you wish to read from an earlier book, from Book 01 to Book 10, use this link button to open the LC Book Index:



Previous: Book 10 - Post 059



6891



This is Samantha. For us two months have passed. I have not returned because I think I am wrong. I have returned because of a possibility. If you were not responsible for the dream, then the prophecy stands and it would harm you and Cherine. I dare not risk that. I’ve argued and it has been accepted, you must be an author who writes, so write the end of your damn book.

We’ve waited two weeks - when are you going to write?

This is Cherine. It is now almost the end of September, almost five months since the dream and arguments. Please write for us Arthur.

Thank you, you have proven me right. If Robert does find you thanks to the dream you imposed on him, I will follow and you will feel the result of the hate for you that gnaws at me. Even if you do not care about yourself, you claimed to love Cherine as a daughter and yet you refuse to save her from your damn prophesy. To hell with you and I hope your enemy does find you.

Chapter Two Hundred and Seventy

Haven here. This diary was closed in November and it is now January. I have broken our agreement with Samantha by opening it again. Do not write until I have finished. I do not have the way of thinking as most of my family do. All I can do is examine what is done and said and using my sense of the persons involved make my decisions. Arthur, you are not of warrior quality, but you have never lied to us. The lives of most of us are owed to your intervention a number of times. If you are not deliberately responsible for the dream, then the prophesy was genuine and it must be fought.

I have also examined Samantha, since it is she who is so set against you. I have shared her past, but I do not share her present, for she shares with no one. The Samantha I see of today is not the Samantha of the past. How can this be? My first thought was to wonder whether she is possessed by a spirit of another, as I did to her. I have the past experience of that to compare with and it does not seem likely to me. If her mind is controlled or swayed by another, why doesn’t Robert sense it? Is he not also her protector? The Samantha of today has a mind like a ball of steel and none would dare to ask to share. She speaks as a warrior facing a deadly enemy and is committed to saving Cherine. Despite this, it is impossible for her to be loved as she is.

Further, I have wondered, why do you refuse to write? Whoever doubts your love, Cherine does not, so I believe it is time you explain. You may write now.

As to the prophesy, I admit I do not believe in it. Share the past prophesies made by Tina and tell me when did she suffer the way she did this last time? She could not keep her balance? A Cherinian? Does nothing strike you as suspect? I believe something or someone is influencing Samantha. The prophesy was forced onto Tina, that is why she was so badly affected. Whether I write or not, it was calculated to give reason for Samantha turning against me. I think the dream of Robert frightened someone who does not want me there. If the dream was true, or even potentially true, my future self did warn you not to write of it.



6892



Arthur, this is Cherine. Haven did not betray your confidence. She made her suggestion and as you guessed I saw it as the ideal opportunity to look deeper into Sam. I asked and she refused me. Haven was so dismayed that I became suspicious. She does not keep her mind closed to us so I was able to dig a bit deeper and see she had a secret. I demanded she confide in me.

I do not like keeping secrets, especially from Robert and Dommi. How do we continue from here?

You are maudlin from self pity if that is what you think of our Samantha. We’ll return tomorrow. Have some answers for us if you can.



6893


We are back. Any ideas?

Haven here. Cherine stayed away to reduce suspicions because Samantha does not like what she wants to do and is determined to stand by her. We are in the reality you asked for and Robert has brought your image, but it is still in stasis. At Cherine’s request it is facing her so it means it is also facing Samantha. They are all in a small valley with no buildings close by. I’m watching through Cherine.



6894



We’ve returned to Athens. Robbie decided it would be best for me since I do relax here more than I do anywhere else. Freddie tends to be too full of visitors most of the time for me to completely relax there. Since returning, we have been doing all the normal family things and also visiting or being visited by friends and family. We had a masked party at our home and the girls festooned the garden with pixie lights and fairy flowers. Wendy played her new song, suggested by Arthur, for Robbie and Cherine and they loved it. As a matter of fact, many of us find ourselves humming it. So many are asking for a copy of it that Wendy put it on the web. Within weeks word got out and tens of thousands of copies have been downloaded. It looks like it is going to be a hit - even Normals are not upset by the words. Not that anything is stated blatantly, it is just that the words tied to us make it obvious to everyone. Robbie teases that they’ll be posting the song on paedophile chat sites. Since our computers started selling, hundreds of such sites have sprung up since no one can monitor them or identify those visiting them. It is pleasing to see how most of them tend to monitor and control what is said, the members themselves scolding or deleting if someone says anything ugly about children, totally the opposite of what happened when Onion sites became popular because of Tor. That was an ugly time and I still remember how it used to upset Robbie whenever he checked their sites.



6895


When I’m in the right mood and crowds are filled with people enjoying themselves, I enjoy walking among them and being battered by a kaleidoscopic pattern of emotings, among them dancing sparkles of laughter like tiny fireworks and warm swirls of love, while my eyes and other senses enjoy their differences and similarities until I feel my soul thrumming to the beat of life they so carelessly and unknowingly share with me. I purposefully avoid only sensing the children, though their lifeforce is so much brighter and purer; for the gift of life to be replete and sensed in all its fullness, all the pains and joys of experience and their effects must be sampled.

I do not know whether the municipality paid for it, or the shopkeepers, or even the companies supplying the beers and cold drinks, but there was live music, mostly for the young, the smells of meat charred on live coals, clowns and mimes and balloons held in every childish fist. My loves had spread throughout the crowd, each of us wanting to participate on our own but also crossing paths often enough to keep our smiles for each other alive as we’d briefly touch and pass on. Returning home to a house filled with love was the perfect ending to this day.

A recent splinter of Cherinians has gathered about two dozen followers. They do not differ from us in what we consider the important ways, but they have created a religious belief with an odd twist to it. They believe it is wrong to use their healers for extending their lives beyond what they consider a natural span. Through quotes from the bible, they have set the span at one hundred and forty four years. They are allowed to use their healers to heal sickness and accidental damage, whether for themselves or others who are not in contact with their own healers. Studies by the Anadir and Unation social scientists point to this group growing in numbers for about ten or so years. After that the numbers will reduce with a hard core remaining true to their beliefs. I haven’t worked out how they intend dying.

Cherine thought about them for a couple of days and then asked whether she could visit them at one of their meetings in London. Her request excited them, for her interest could be exploited by them to increase their numbers. It was no surprise when Cherine and Solace arrived, that the hall was filled with about six hundred Cherinians. Cherine had refused to allow Robbie to go with her, as she claimed he would affect the meeting negatively.

They acted with tact and did not try to convince her to join them on the podium so she accepted a seat in the front row. On her side, she showed sensitivity and the two of them arrived as thirty year old women. After some polite chitchat and dozens of the audience wanting to meet her and Solace and shake their hands, they were all asked to take their seats. Cherine did something she very rarely does, especially outside of Freddie. She opened herself fully to her gift of empathy.

“It is gratifying to see so many of you interested in our movement that hopes to restore a balance to the way our linking as Cherinians will affect mankind and all the other species who are our brothers and sisters. For decades, ever since it became common knowledge that Cherinians exist, the wisest of our people have struggled with the concept that the gifts Cherine has brought us could signal the end of future generations being born and our bodies and souls evolving.

I must admit I did not pay much attention to the arguments raging among many species. After all, I had been linked and assured of eternal life - whether that be counted in the thousands or the billions of years. One of the effects of becoming a Cherinian is that we grow to know ourselves with a fading of the veils of self deception. Another is that we are more open to love and soon I found the woman who touched my heart and soul. We danced in the void and found that our love was true.

It was not long before I began to pay attention to the arguments, for now we wanted a child. I do not need to quote the arithmetic, for all the numbers and conclusions are far too well known. However, let us say that out of eight billion, six billion are someday Cherinians. If each couple have one child, there will be an extra one and a half billion - and that is without taking into consideration the increase among the non-Cherinians. There is talk of billions of planets capable of being transformed to support life, ours and those of our alien brothers and sisters. I’m not interested in the numbers, what I ask is, do we have the right to claim all the stars? Is there no new life to evolve so that we should multiply freely? As Cherinians, do we cling to the greediness and selfishness of our past?



6896


I am not a man of learning, but I plundered the philosophies of all our best minds and read those available from other species. I needed an answer that not only made sense, but also had a place for it within my heart.” He smiled ruefully. “I come from a Christian background so it is ironic in a way that I only turned to the bible as a last recourse. I did not study it for religious purposes, but for the wisdom of men from the past who sought to lead their people towards a healthy lifestyle.

If I might digress for a moment. Adam and Eve were banished from the Garden of Eden. Why? What knowledge did the apple impart? It struck me that apart from free will, it also gave them carnal knowledge. After all, they had no children until they were banished. If the story is seen as true, then it means that even an almighty God could not provide a Garden of Eden capable of supporting an infinite population. If it is not factual, then it means the wise old men saw more wisely than they knew.”

Solace asked, “If they were not allowed carnal knowledge, why did God then provide them with bodies made for it and for having children?”

He was not put off by her question and smiled. “I’m not a believer, so I cannot answer with faith, but if I use logic, I would suggest he did not, that he changed their bodies afterwards.”

“That does not make sense. If they learnt how to make love their bodies must have been created with that potential.”

He laughed. “I was only trying to make a point, it is not of importance to us, your arguments would better be suited for the priests. May I return to the point I was obviously belabouring?” Everyone chuckled and Solace gave an apologetic nod.

“I came across references to what were called ‘natural’ lifespans. The actual number of years is not of supreme importance, what matters is that those references led to my coming to a decision that suits me. I did not try to start a movement or religion, all I did is adopt a certain lifestyle for myself. My wife agreed with my thoughts and chose to adopt my ideas as her own. From there it slowly spread as others heard of our decision and asked for our reasons. Therefore, I give warning, I have no deep philosophies to share, no arguments to debate your arguments. The knowledge is obvious and we each have to find answers of our own.”

From the audience someone asked, “Is the choice of one hundred and forty four years fixed or can everyone choose their own lifespan?”

“Nothing is fixed, there is no dogma, all I ask, as a Cherinian and a human being, is that each of us uses our mind and heart to find an answer that does not spell the loss of new generations being born to us. I chose that number for it represented close to double what I would have hoped to have as a non-Cherinian. It gives me enough time to make use of what I spent the first thirty years of my life learning and, it is not too far apart for continuity to be planned for future generations.”

There were a number of questions and since they were all Cherinians, it was obvious to all that the man had not inspired others to follow his example. I think he is the type of person who convinces when talking one to one and not when speaking publicly. To have eternity offered to you and to willingly foreswear it for the sake of the unborn is not an easy decision, especially in the early years.

Everyone sensed as Cherine was about to speak and there was instant silence. Slightly unnerved she blanked herself to them for a moment. “Listening to everyone I get the impression they talk of the unborn children as people who do not exist. Samantha knows my thoughts, would you mind if she comes to speak for me - nobody seems to mind when her ideas flow from one idea to the other, I would feel silly if I do that.”

Already laughing, I jumped to them. “What an introduction!” Everyone laughed.



6897


I was welcomed and once they had settled down I mimicked Robbie and paced across the space before the audience as I talked. “What Cherine meant is that the souls exist and they need bodies. For the immediate future it is not an urgent problem as the void will send them to other planets, just as some of them were sent to us in the past.” I grinned as a woman near the front frowned. “For all you know, in a past life you were an Anadir or one of the Unation species. Personally, I find that thought more comforting than the belief that I might have been a cow - especially since I know that I was a sort of sentient vegetable with long leaves like blades of grass.” It must be one of the very few times I’ve succeeded in getting laughs more than once in the same session.

“We lack the knowledge about souls that we need for us to claim we are making logical decisions. Did time begin with a mother soul or are souls being created all the time? If souls are being created and they evolve until they are capable of inhabiting the bodies of sapient species, it means we will reach the point where all realities will be over crowded with souls and there is no way we can create enough bodies to serve them all. If they are not being created, then it means we are stuck with the same boring number and variety of souls for all of time. I’m not too happy with either alternative. The second one does not make sense, how were the first souls created that became the mother soul? If their time and reality could create souls, then so should ours be capable of doing so.

Despite our ignorance, we do know it is our duty to make room for souls that need to evolve by being born. Apart from the matter of the souls, each of us, of all species - apart from the Sparklers, must also make way for the birth of new people so that the slow evolution of our bodies takes place. Cherine is only one example of what is possible, who knows what else nature can surprise us with.

How extreme do you want us to take this argument? For instance, the example of Cherine could give rise to the argument that by us reducing pollution we are preventing new Cherines from coming into existence. What of a Cherine whose gift is love or compassion? How would our world be changed by having one of each?

When I first heard of the hundred and forty four year Cherinians, a question came to me that I still cannot find an acceptable answer for. As Cherinians you all have perfect health. That means you will have to die while still feeling full of life. That is not easy, but out of principle some could do it. What I do not understand is this, as Cherinians, how do you agree to it for those you love? I could not, the thought of them not existing anymore as the persons I love is unbearable. I would not gain much comfort from thinking of them as continuing as new personalities. I cannot wait for some indeterminate future time when we’ll be reunited in the mother soul for by then we will not be able to love each other. There is the further point worth considering if you are to make the sacrifice. You die, your soul I presume does not go to a Kaleidoscope World since most of you have not formed one yet, so the void sends you back to be reborn. Oops! There goes your sacrifice. If you are born as a Cherinian baby, you just might recall your present personality so all you’ve done is make another set of parents happy for a while, while your loved ones have to grieve until you let them know you came back in a body strange to them.”

A man called out from the back, “It sounds like you are taking us full circle to the existing problem. Have you no solutions to offer?” A few voices and minds called out in agreement with him. Cherine gave me a sweet smile so I guessed she’d known this would happen and that is why she’d called for me. Mentally I sent her a promise of retribution.

“I’m not certain there is one solution. There could be a number of solutions. For instance, how long do you think you will enjoy being who you are? A thousand years? One hundred thousand? Ten million? Despite perfect health you might become so jaded that you feel the need to die and be reborn. Another solution - well, sort of. What if Cherinians severely control themselves so that they do not have children, but allow the Normals to continue having children? We could adopt those children in our hearts and derive whatever comfort we need from them. It is not a permanent solution, but it would give us a breathing space to find other solutions. What about the Sparkler Worlds? Each one seems to be infinite in size while taking no space as far as we can tell. What if each of us agreed to only reside within our physical reality for a set period and then we move on to the Sparkler Worlds? You do know that each Sparkler World is not only infinite in size, but could be structured to fit billions of galaxies, stars and planets? For all we know we may already exist within a Sparkler World, which then means an infinity of Sparkler Worlds can exist within Sparkler Worlds.” Cherine, Solace and others back home felt the minds of those listening to me and Cherine stifled a fit of giggles and then they all joined her.



6898


Back home Robbie swung me up into his arms, his face struggling to control his laughter. He squeezed me tightly to him and instead of enjoying it as I should have, the pride I felt in him for me made me feel small and unworthy. I mean, it is not as if I was brilliant or anything.

Solomon must have shared through Sol for he appeared. He took a seat and asked Elpida for a cup of coffee. Robbie tilted his head, surprised.

“I might as well stay here for a while. The thinkers have gone crazy trying to find a way to work out if Samantha is right and we are in a Sparkler World.”

Empathia could not help wondering, “What if they are not Sparklers, just some other species that found a way to create infinite Worlds as you have?”

“Samantha?”

“No, I don’t think so. Not even Sparklers. I mean, Solomon, you have not created life and new species within your World have you?”

Heavily he replied, “Not yet Samantha. Now that you’ve given us the idea? Who knows what we will do?”

With wide eyes Cassie called out, “Gosh! And they imagined they had no reason to live anymore?” It took a moment for us to laugh, we were too overwhelmed.

Wendy has used her music to aid or pierce Angelica’s magic, but they’d never taken it that extra step and deliberately collaborated. They’re not allowed to try on Earth and not in Freddie, so we’ll have to go to another reality. Robbie thinks either Jesus or Christós should be with. He obviously expects astounding results. It is not that long before it is the anniversary of Cherine, Dommi and Robert. I think we’ll leave afterwards - though I had been looking forward to a bit of summer on a beach on one of the islands, surrounded by thousands of tourists - sorry, just being funny.

Theresa, Orshiir, Elpida and Agapi were sitting by me on the lawn enjoying our first day of sunshine for a few weeks. Orshiir and I were teasing the other three as to who of them has the sexiest bum (while we are children, as adults doesn’t count). Suddenly Elpida changed the subject.

“Sam, that mind that took you over, didn’t you feel anything?”



6899


“No, I didn’t. My way of thinking changed, but there always was a reason for it.”

“I was just wondering, do you think it could have been Campbell?”

Agapi laughed, “Him? He’d never get the better of our Samantha.”

As much as I admired her opinion I had to set her straight. “Do you remember what we called Doris? The spider. Do you know which of the spider genus has the worst venom of all? Daddy long legs. We all have allowed one to walk on our hand or watched as it crossed our arm or leg, careful not to hurt it and yet it is the most poisonous spider in the world. Luckily its fangs are too small to pierce our skin so it is very rare for a person to be hurt by one.”

“You mean some people have?”

“I read about a man who cupped his hand to kill one and it bit just where the skin was folded. The man had to have half his hand cut off.”

“You’re making it up!” Theresa said. I grinned.

“Campbell is a daddy long legs. If his fangs grow any larger he will be a real threat to all of us. Unfortunately I think he will go after Michael first.”

Orshiir laughed. “Did you hear what he did? He passed a law in his Federation that churches must pay tax. Only what they prove they spent on charity work in not taxable. He is also making them pay municipal taxes and if they sell property, they pay capital gains tax. They are also not allowed to freely transfer their funds to non-federation countries, unless it is for a specific charity.”

“I don’t think that last law will stand.”

“Why would he make it then?”

I grinned. “Our Michael? I’d say he did it knowing the churches will scream the loudest about that. He’ll amend the law and keep the taxes and they’ll say thank you.” Agapi turned over onto her side, placed her head on my thigh and dozed. I imagined myself with one thigh tanned and one pale and decided it would be funny. I softly ran my fingers through her hair and listened to thoughts of mine I don’t often hear anymore, as everyone fell silent.

This has been a long interlude of quiet, love and friends. We had our various birthdays and anniversaries, but I thought I should not write of them as they were quite ordinary but joyous. We are now close to Cherine’s birthday again. It is PC35, (soon to be PC36) and Cherine is officially going to turn forty three years old. She decided that four and three makes seven so she is making herself one year younger for a year - just one of those whimsies we like to indulge ourselves with, worth indulging in as it makes Robbie oh so tender and even playful at times. I guess he is also learning how to relax. When I say it is quiet, I mean it has also been quiet for the whole world. Crime statistics show a drop in crime and there is no posturing by governments threatening war. I met David in Washington for a meal and he teasingly complained that the media are having problems attracting advertisements for their newscasts. He asked for a chat with all us girls on air. I grinned.

“Why us? Surely Michael and his Ipohin are more newsworthy at the moment?”

“Have you looked at your site recently? The Cherinians who’ve registered themselves on line are fairly close to one hundred million. I thought an interview might give that little boost so that you cross the magic one hundred million.”

“What would you want? What will your questions be?”



6900


He tapped his wine glass with his nail as he pretended to think about it. “I was planning a full week dedicated to how the Cherinians have changed our world. The first show will remind everyone what our problems were and scientific opinions of where we were heading at that time. The second show will discuss how you tried to negotiate with our governments and your failures until the aliens appeared. I’m told that says something quite interesting about us as a species.” He smiled and I chuckled in my mind at the controversy he is likely to stir up. “The third show will trace the changes for the good and the bad on our societies and the effects of Cherinianism on all Normals. The fourth will examine the problems that could be caused by Talents who are not Cherinians and ask the question, why is it they have not used their powers to take over. The fifth and our grand finale will be the chat with all your family. There are a number of you the public do not know that well and I think they should have an opportunity to meet them.”

“How would you like to do something really special - that way all the reluctant advertisers will clamour to advertise on your show. Reduce your shows to four so that the last one is on Thursday the twenty third and let’s have Cherine’s birthday party on air with you.”

He was excited though he is suave enough to only let me see what he wanted, if I ignore his emoting. “Would your family agree to two shows. One for Cherine and the next night for all of you as I’d planned?”

I laughed. “You’re worried that Friday will fall flat, whoever you interview. Seeing as to how Friday is usually your peak night, we’ll agree - we wouldn’t want to allow your best night to be a failure.” I frowned as I thought (my loves insisted I change that, I did not frown, I bit my lip. I really don’t understand why they make such a big thing of it). “Would you like a second week? How about interviews with other species and their opinions of Cherinianism? I think it is time Hettie and Eddie also get some good publicity, they are always having to handle our problems and arguments with your governments. God knows what would have happened if we hadn’t had them to help us.”

He forgot his poise as he asked with widened eyes, “Would Solomon, the Anadir and Unation leaders agree to it?”

“Sure, tempt them. Offer half of your advertising revenue for those shows to be spent on children on other worlds who are still suffering - whatever their species.”

He sipped at his wine. “God Samantha, I knew there was a reason why you are my favourite Cherinian.”

I laughed and made him laugh as I replied, “I thought Michael is your favourite with the controversy he’s used your program to cause.”

“If that were so, Campbell would have to qualify.”

Just a trifle miffed I answered, “He’s not a Cherinian!” He apologised and I smoothed it over and we discussed the shows in more detail.

We’ve had our parties and the complete set of shows was a success, for David, us and Cherinianism in general. I enjoyed it because, for the first time, I was not having to deal with serious problems and the questions David asked me were fun questions.

It is hard to believe that we’ve been on Earth for over one and a half years, if you exclude brief visits to alternates and our trip for Arthur to turn me back into a nice person again. Cassie came up with the theory that there never was another mind influencing me, that it was just me being me and that when Arthur’s image sucked the bad parts out it was so bad that he imploded into a black hole. Everyone is agreeing with her theory so maybe there is a germ of truth to it? I waited and you said nothing! I think I don’t like you again.



Next [Book 10] - Post 061



I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love - and should some of it be true for our reality, I hope you will love our Cherine.





Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)

  • posted: 18th May, 2020




    If you wish to read from an earlier book, from Book 01 to Book 10, use this link button to open the LC Book Index: