Follow 4 Follow Desperation: Steal These Steemit Post Titles, I Dare You

in #shitcomments7 years ago (edited)

brooke-cagle-224820.jpg

follow4follow

nice post, bro.

I read yours, how come you not upvote me?

Good information, sir. (comment was on an absurd meme)

If the above comments sound like yours, I am here to tell you:

YOU NEED A NEW GAME.

These kinds of comments actually reduce your chances of earning because they repel people instantly.

STOP. NOW.

You are wasting valuable energy.

There’s a new level of desperation on Steemit these days and I think it’s a product of terrible marketing, and I’m a tiny bit guilty too. Steemit has attracted a new breed of selfishness, and a lot of it comes in the form of people promoting Steemit like this:

“Hey, you can upvote your own posts AND comments, and make a decent salary, even if no one else upvotes you.”

This type of marketing sucks, and it’s not really accurate, either.

Steemit is a SOCIAL network. The behavior described above is ANTI-SOCIAL.

It won’t work as a strategy to bring abundance. It will only bring a very short-term gain. People will actually stop giving you attention. Remember, attention is the commodity that is becoming scarce.

In Steemit, you can actually make way more by being a decent person, interacting with others on a deep level, and creating solutions that affect large groups of people. The more people you help, the more you can potentially earn (but it takes a lot of time and dedication, consistency, and a breaking point).

Your blog is now social real estate.

Think wisely. Do you want to build a pigsty of shit, or a kingdom of idea diamonds? If you create a pig sty full of shit, no one will want to stop by for tea at your pig sty.

And if you tell people they will do well on Steemit if they write well-formatted posts, that’s not exactly accurate, either. If you write and don’t interact with others you probably will not do well. Steemit is a SOCIAL NETWORK.

It’s also a Delegated Proof of Stake platform. Dan Larimer invented the DPOS system, and it does not function like any existing mainstream blogging company. It’s a new design. At first when I joined Steemit, I didn’t know what Delegated Proof of Stake meant. It took me almost a year to understand it fully.

The reason no one tells you the truth is because the mainstream world doesn’t operate this way. It doesn’t operate the way gift economies work. The mainstream world operates like everyone upvoting their own posts and comments shamelessly, each person picking a corner and masturbating until they’re senseless.

That is not the definition of a social network.

That is the definition of a masturbation vomitorium.

I love what many of you have done to promote Steemit, but if you could make this one adjustment, I would be very pleased: please stop encouraging people to upvote their own comments all day long. I’ve watched several videos where some repeat this over and over for people to just upvote their own stuff, and the message is actually misleading because Dan didn’t invent Steem for that purpose.

The only reason that this has happened recently, is because of HF19. Before that, my full upvote strength was worth about $.30, not $10. Dan predicted that people would abuse the platform and self-upvote to an extreme degree, so that is why the algorithm was created to reduce the upvote strength of smaller accounts when Steem was first designed.

It was us, the community who rallied together to get this algorithm changed, in order to give a voice to minnows. We argued that minnows need to feel the power of being able to give say $.05 to others, instead of $0. But now, it appears that this algorithm needs to be re-considered due to self-upvote abusers (the big ones, the ones who vote for themselves more than 50% of the time).

Desperate Minnows: Please Steal My Post Ideas

jayden-yoon-306670.jpg

I’ve been thinking about ways to help those who feel desperate, and here are 10 post titles that I would love to see posted on Steemit. You are free to use these post ideas, and write a post with these same titles, if you like any of them. I am at a point where I don’t have enough time to write all the posts I want…..

Here goes, please steal these titles, write these posts and keep all the rewards:

FAQ Me on Steemit
My eSteem App Review
Follow 4 Follow: A Deep Statistical Analysis of Empty, Soulless Comments on Steemit
How Papa-Pepper Socializes on Steemit And How You Can Be More Like Him, A Human
How To Make Friends With People
How To Make Friends With Bots
How To Stop Posting Stuff Like, “Follow 4 Follow” And Become a Human Again
I Hate Myself, But I Still Post Once A Day on Steemit
5 Strategies To Teach Others How To Use Steemit
How To Turn Your Mental Illness into Money On Steemit
From Troll To Functioning Human: My Journey
How I Operate A Botnet on Steemit
I Think I Am In Love With A Robot
Why I Stopped Using Twitter For Masturbation Purposes
How To Lose Money on Steemit: A Guide For Power Trolls
How To Write A Steemit Post: A Guide For Shallow People
Steem Addict: How The Blockchain Swallowed Me Whole
Idiot’s Guide to Delegated Proof of Stake

If you write a decent post with any of these titles, and i like it, you’ll get one full upvote from me and a resteem. If I don’t like it, I won’t vote for it.

TL;DR: More creativity, less shit commenting.

steemitsp_small.JPG

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Social networking , not a beggers platform . You earn from what you create , you make a shit post , you get shit in return . You have worked your way up , you will deserve the best . Good content is always rewarded my friend . I hope the new comers stop the follow me crap , it's really old school now . Ps. I am going to try out the challenge, I'm not desperate but I want to improve @stellabelle

Good content is always rewarded my friend

You are invited to check brilliant content in the steem dust generating $0.03 or less. It looks like you only read the "hot" or "trending" sections

Very good point indeed, I agree. Most top / talented bloggers never even make it in the hot pages and most people only read the trending posts in order to get some juice from comment upvotes...this is human nature, unfortunately.

delegated proof of stake means that good content is not always rewarded. Gaining influence is a back-breaking process, grueling and not really for the faint-hearted.

which challenge will you do?

I am not too positive on which one yet , BUT I will let you know before I throw myself onto a topic

Please don't upvote my shitcomment. ;)

I saw the sun was talking about Steemit @muhaidin

Upvoted it without even reading it...

First
People who are lazy, spammers, selfish or whatever you say will not ever try to work hard, they always want an easy way to earn bucks. Though the topics you have mentioned are kind of unique but still people want to earn quickly and via easy ways, so they are going to ignore your advice.

Second
Let me share a story, I know a person who is from my country and joined Steemit in June, 2017. I was following him and about 15 or 20 days ago, I saw him upvoting his own comments, he was publishing his own posts too. When I saw his wallet, he had more than 8000 delegated steem power. I checked his account yesterday and now he has not posted for the last 10 days. His upvote worths .53 and he is upvoting his own comments with 100% and upvotes newcomers introductory post with a lower strength. I went to steem.chat and asked in the general channel that is it leagal on steemit. Should we flag him or any step like that. People there said he can do this, it's a free world/economy. So the purpose of telling this story is why we have allowed so many bots who lease steem power. You know whom I am talking about, don't want to mention the name. Even, I have seen some very good accounts who have a delegated steem power of more than 200,000 and their 60 to 70% upvotes go to themseleves. So instead of teaching the people, why shouldn't we stop these services/bots?

Third
And to be very honest and I am not being negative here, I have seen whales/dolphins being selfish too. They work on their content, work again and work again and never read other's people content. As a red fish, I want big fish not to upvote me but just read my post, leave a comment and suggest me something that can help me grow in this community. You might disagree and you have a right to do so but except for a few ones, peeps here are selfish!
In order to write something, you don't have to have a brilliant mind. You can write what you yourself think and ask yourselves questions like why this happened?
I always used to think about people who have never been successful in their lives, so I decided to share their stories, without even thinking that I'll get money from these posts. Highlighting people who deserve to be highlighted gives me everything I want and will continue doing that.
Too long!

I find it interesting that such a long, time-consuming response gets just a 6-cent upvote, yet a 5 or 6 word response can garner an up-vote of almost $10. Here is someone pouring their heart out into what they see as affecting the platform and suggesting a shift in mindset. I believe @ghulammujtaba is doing EXACTLY what this platform was designed to do (share ideas and stimulate discussion around those ideas), yet there is not a lot of 'gifting' going on to appreciate his/her thoughts and time.

I encourage everyone to examine their own voting attitude and reward those who actually participate in the social part of this platform. Although my vote is worth very little, I will up-vote to show my appreciation of the effort expended on the reply.

Also, to contribute to the discussion above regarding the stopping of the bots: As it currently stands, there are too many people that still believe the bots are helping the minnows (or are grabbing too much of the pie to want it to stop). It will take a while for people to realize that these vote-buying bots are NOT helping the platform and are actually a part of the problem. There are good bots that don't sell votes, so stopping all bots is not the solution either. I believe it is a mindset thing that needs to be shifted and those with the huge SP need to begin using some of that SP to down-vote these vote-selling bots when they see them being used (probably easier to down-vote the people purchasing votes for themselves) which is like voting on your own comments. When the gains are nullified, there will be no more reason to make or use the vote-buying bots and we can get back to the social side of this platform.

That's my 2 cents worth and if you disagree, please explain why. Let's get this conversation going and see what we can do together to make this place the best it can be.

I have upvoted that post you mentioned.....I was on break for the night.....This is the first I have seen of these new comments.

I was looking at post times and did notice all your votes were (at that time) 16 hours ago, so I did think that you were likely finished for the day. I was not pointing at you in particular (I had recently made an article about voting patterns) but rather used the opportunity here to further my quest to change the way people in general use their votes. I have seen that you are in fact one of the generous people who do pass around their 'gifts' of votes and I thank you for that. I hope my use of that example did not make you feel personally attacked. That was not the intention and I apologize if it did. I can see that you are in fact on the same page with most of these ideas and appreciate your efforts in making this issue public. The intent was to have your readers also up-vote the reply. I don't believe it is entirely the responsibility of the author of the article to do all the up-voting. Treating this platform strictly as a business is not going to result in it growing into what it was envisioned as, so that mindset needs to change if we expect it to grow the way it was intended.

Agreed, 100% agreed.

You raised a lot of good points that I mostly agree with. Highlighting others is a good way to be recognized by Steemians.

I like the sentiment, Mujtaba. A business at the end of the day, I think, is business. Businesses do like their own products the most, don't they? They do ask their own employees to buy their products and don't just gift them for free. I believe if we look at it from that angle, delegating power etc. doesn't hurt much the basic plinth of the community. Again, it is a free world and everybody has the right to think differently.

This is quality content, thanks man. I have a high voting power right now and I like to go through and give my 100% upvote to great content, which is getting harder and harder to find! Appreciate blogs that help others so thank you for this one! As it pertains to commenting, I still try to give a little vote to everyone who comments on my blogs, even the bros haha. I like Steemit most for the support so I try to show some of that to others, even the ones lacking creativity ;)

Thanks very much. As Steemit grows, I suspect it will be harder and harder to get votes, especially at full strength. mine was just wiped out by flagging a bunch of scammers!

yeah, commenting on commenting is not exactly what i was referring to...i know i have short comments on other people's comments....

I once saw a book "How to lose friends and really piss people off; The secret to corporate success"

It's very difficult to WIN at a Social platform when you cram your 30 character self flagellation down people's throats.

For this reason I practice what I preach;

  1. Rare to none on selfgoats (sometimes I do "bump" something I wrote)
  2. Lots of thoughtful comments on other people's work
  3. 2-4 Quality posts a day (subjective, I know, but crap is obvious)
  4. Original reviews on articles (not copypasta)

Anyways ... I'm not the sharpest knife in the drawer, that's my...
two_cents_timeshiftarts.jpg

It sounds like you have a solid strategy.

The desperation is just a symptom of other problems....the world economic situation become s more and Moreno paradoxical....all the technology available to ensure that we could all be well fed, housed and have enough free times during resources to enjoy our lives...and yet most of us are working harder than ever in an unforgiving job market.

Also we are so accustomed to selling ourselves and thinking in terms of marketing that as soon as the potential for personal gain makes itself seen, we use whatever method we can think of to attain it (and some are pretty bad at sugar coating. You seem pretty triggered by these f4f, but I think just as bad, if not worse, are those who are good at coming across like they care about the community when they are really scheming for personal gain. I'm unimpressed with most initiatives meant for minnows, the only one that I have few questions about is OCD because it focuses on quality content by minnows and also "employs" minnows as curators in a sense. I'd like to see more of these initiatives which are just as, if not more beneficial to the participants than the organizer and that are about more than helping to spam posts relating to the specific initiative.

I am writing some posts that are not so different from your suggested titles ;-) we do think alike although our situations are quite different. Always good to get a glimpse inside your world 時間があれば日本語を練習しましょう、僕は自分の始まったbe awesome discord channelをよく使っています,来て見てください。メンバーは多くはないけどいいところです. Our small new community based, our general chat is called "deep shit" where we go deep and get personal X-D

Edit: Jesus, I just saw how many comments you received and I almost don't want to comment on your posts anymore, it seems like I'm just giving you more work since it mustn't take you hours to read all your comments every week.

but you should, because without your reminder, i may have gotten lazy, and not responded to all comments! I'm trying to get better about this.

I collected ridiculous comments under my posts and my hit parade is:

  1. "You painting sucks. Please, look my blog and upvote my posts"
  2. under meme challenge "Good news and interesting it is needed by the public like the news that you have posted, thank you for posting him hopefully things you have done is useful for many people especially for the creator of posting, I and other friends, hopefully we. Can be glorious here thank you may be happy with my comments"

oh god, those are priceless comments!!!!!!

your guy is really funny!

First you teach me
Then you amaze me with your write up
Then you crack me up
Lol
Thank you @stellabelle

this might sound weird but every time i see a black person using gifs or stock photos of white people, it kind of depresses me.

I'm sorry...

Hello @stellabelle. I translated this post in Russian. Translation here: https://steemit.com/shitcomments/@igor-steem/otchayanie-iz-za-podpiski-za-podpisku-kradite-nazvanie-postov-ya-ikh-vam-otdayu . Thank you! But I see that your post will be useful in any language.

I'm also suffering from the same struggle that I'm not getting much upvote from any whale but I'm still trying to get upvotes from my post or from comments but thanx for building my confidence again.

involve yourself as much as possible with other minnows, forming a group. That is a long-term strategy that will create more abundance for you.

The follow for follow guys are not desperate, they are either lazy or picked it up from someone else and havent reflect it yet

Really amazing post. I like people like you who always find time to help those who know nothing about something. You have really made it clear and i hope those who always give shitty comments as you have mentionned will take your advice

glad you liked it.

im glad i followed u and got this message . Keep inspiring us

The follow4follow does not work. Whats the point of following if you are not interested on the content!?
Coments are like an add to your blog if you do a nice one people will notice you if you beeg then you sound desperate and that will send them away.
The last few days i have been busy so im not posting, instead im just resteeming the posts i like and im still getting new followers just by helping out fellow steemians.

So just stop making dumb coments asking for followers or upvotes.

Nice post, upvoted and resteemed.

Saudações

Hey, thanks for the resteem. I am glad to know I'm not the only one who realizes the futility of the F4F non-method.

Excellent post @stellabelle.
Always enjoy reading your posts but I really liked this one, lots of great comments as well, nice to see people actually reading posts. Steem on my dear.

interesting post, I guess you got tired of the trolls? too, I wrote about this awhile back. I Hate Myself, But I Still Post Once A Day on Steemit ]sound like something I could write

did you write it?

sorry, what I meant was I wrote about troll awhile back
https://steemit.com/steemit/@raybilson/i-upvoted-and-resteem-your-post-why
https://steemit.com/writing/@raybilson/should-you-answer-trolls-comments

the post you pososed I have in my queque haven't writen it yet

I confess that my first comments, when I was starting here.

everyone has to start somewhere! I am just here to help you make friends.

I've been on Steemit for 2 months now. Sadly, I've probably commented like 1
of the above during my first week on Steemit. Now, anytime I see stupid comments like that, I 100% agree with you @stellabelle, it's so aggravating!!! I wish more people would actually read post. :(

I'll take this one!!
Steem Addict: How The Blockchain Swallowed Me Whole

Good selection!

Thank you! Hopefully you like it to where I can get that upvote and resteem :)

ok, cool, I'll upvote and resteem it!

Thanks! You're Awesome!

Nice post, good job. Upvoted & resteemed.
Follow me please.
After a week i will be a your dead follower.
(It's an endless cycle nowadays.)

ha ha! at least you're honest. RARE!

Follow 4 Follow: A Deep Statistical Analysis of Empty, Soulless Comments on Steemit
my next project. ;)

I think the beggers, vote for vote, follow for follow stuff could work itself out when these people realize it doesn't work.

I think one of the big problems are these voting circles. I can see a post with 4 views and 80 votes. This turns the platform into a bot and autovote playground. I think votes should go to material that a human has actually looked at and and determined if it is worthy of a vote and if so what percentage that vote should be given at. This actual human interaction encourages human interaction and for a social network to actually be social.

if you think it's bad now, you should have seen it 6 months ago! It's way better now.

Wow that's crazy cause it's pretty bad now.

My favorite so far was "many informative this post" on a picture. I couldn't help but upvote it.

truly absurd.

Steemit is not a social human network, it's a social bot network. Most of the upvotes come from bots that don't read comments. So they will never vote for these post. You need to speak bot language to get an upvote.

Bots are programmed by people, so they have feelings!

Oh please. Think again what you said.

I feel like I should upvote my comment in irony.

There, here's a penny, I took care of it for you.
Wouldn't the real irony be if you followed and upvoted me to whale status?

yeah, it's necessary to be absurd.

The pig sty did sound tempting, but I would hate that nobody would come over to my house for tea haha

Reading the list of post ideas had me dying by the way! I could tell you have a pretty raw sense of humor haha I really liked the from troll to functioning human and the how to lose money on Steemit ideas.

Would love to see you write those posts!

oh boy! Great comment, I'm glad you like raw humor......Bukowski is one of my favorite authors....

Very good very interesting post

Haha, I really love the third title. It's a totally waste of time to do so. Follow 4 follow only generates ghost followers and loneliness D: maybe I'll take your challenge haha, if something come up to my mind

oh man, this is hilarious. I got one today that replied to my post moments after I posted and claimed to have read what I wrote, then immediately asked me for steem favors :(

ps.

How To Turn Your Mental Illness into Money On Steemit--PURE GOLD

aww =(
no titles suitable for me to steal =)
I'm writing crappy posts about dumb stuff that appears in my cracked paranoid piece of brain

After my first day on Steemit I was ready to abandon the platform and never come back. I'd done my introduction post and was already getting comments from random people so I thought, why don't I go ahead and welcome some of the new comers like me as well. As I was going through some of the posts I kept noticing the same comments by the same people who left them on my post.. I was like WTF is this? It bothered me so much I went to sleep and I was dreaming about how I wanted to create my next post to talk about this nonsense before I close my account.. I woke up and was pleasantly surprised by "real" feedback from people who actually took the time to write something. Thankfully, because of this, I decided to stay and explore some more and I'm glad I did! Reading your post expressed exactly what I was feeling. I'm not here for the money or the followers, I'm here to interact and build with communities of like-minded people and to share. I don't really care if people follow me or not, or if they comment or up-vote.. I am just happy to be involved in something new and unique and of course I love cryptocurrency and the blockchain revolution waiting to happen. Thanks again for sharing!

I've been on steemit a little over a month now and I see comments like that most of the time. When it comes to my post, all I want is legitament constructive feedback. I don't like 1 or 2 words. I sometimes even get messages on steemchat from random people saying upvote me, with the article...and I'm like I haven't even read your article yet man.

@ stelabelle very nice observation. I truly believe that you have put a lot of effort into your blog and based on the posts that I​ have gone through your blog is what a blog should be. Unfortunately, ​the platform is marketed in a way that gives doorway to this issue and just as you mention people become selfish and try to rush what takes time and dedication. Good content will be rewarded.

The sad part is that good content can also be lost due to poor marketing. I mean, when people lose​interest​t in material that should matter and become sheep that only follow what trends these behaviours​ will develop. Thanks for the post.

Eye opener.

b.t.w. you have one more real follower in me :)

This was like a day at school, but a good day. I've actually read every response, great post. Exhausted now, time to go reflect. I'm not going to edit my old posts, rather leave them to highlight improvements, (if any) along my journey here. Best post I've read since joining steemit, and I hope to find more posts that are just as rivetting.

i like the titles on offer and will look forward to seeing them published - i hope someone with good humour can write a few of them. Yes, the power self voting by those with heaps of SP is sickening, but i have been told they earn't the right to do it, so i accept that until i hear the other side. Just laughing at your tags now, classics. Rock on-D

Glad you enjoyed the tags.

In the land of crypto, many are drawn to the allure of the get-rich quick scheme. Luckily some see what others never could. A way out of a world ran by greed and selfishness.

I have never been too interested in money.....but I was middle-class, so I didn't have to worry about it.......that is until I lost it all in the recession. That was my wake up call to understand money, and how it works.

It is pretty off putting seeing so much bullshit in the comments section on every single post, especially so for a new comer to this new social media platform.

It wasn't like this until very recently.....it is a remnant of existing legacy social networks......there's a different culture in here...

Well lets hope the trend will be reversed as Steemit gains traction in society... May take some time!

How to make friends- Ask for advice, talk about themselves..heard this on some radio long time ago :)

nice post

LOL, kidding of course.

I was so glad to see this trending after 10 mins while I doing my replies on posts.

I let everything slide here for months, the last few weeks, this stuff is out of control here and I have started commenting to people, similar to your post theme here.

IDK how to fix everything but I am willing to try.

I like the Steemit!

I do not want it to go to crap so I am telling people that now in their spammy, crappy, pasted, no thought, effortless comments.

  • have a good night Stella.

Good post!!!!

ha ha! I feel the same....I sometimes comment with short posts...but not all the time! THanks for your hard work on here! I knew you were a determined one!

You helped me in more than one way and I told you, I never forget that stuff, so thank you Stella.

i am glad i helped....that is good to know i made some kind of difference.

This seems to happen with any social network where you can start making money. Its happened with many in the past and ended up crushing them which is why we here at Steemit need to do something about it. Luckly we do have a bit of power by not upvoting comments but honestly I want the ability to remove comments that are totally worthless or at least put a delay on time from posting to comment.

Social networks that got crushed in the past for this where commentyuwie and tsu. I really don't want to see that happen here with Steemit after I have put so much work into it and I know people such as yourself devoted a ton more effort then me.

Is it possible for the next hard fork to take care of this and combat it a bit?

no, it's a human behavior thing.....we need to think deeply about incentives.

I made a 2nd reply you will not see here in your notifications, just to keep my comments inline there together, if you like you can reply there to them.

You touch some great points here fa sure , i have seen similar post like the one you mention when i just started out on steemit , i never try to cheat the community by following these activities though, i stayed true to the game, now i'm happy with my results in just 29 days, thanks for sharing i also resteem

I lol'd at, "each person picking a corner and masturbating until they’re senseless." I will make an attempt not to become part of the problem.

Don't get me started!!! What about .001 SBD transfers for follows.

yeah, there's that, too.

And there ya have it, politely but bluntly said.

Used to be guilty of this habit until it dawned on me that nobody values a desperate fellowship. You may get a few reluctant follows but really thats how far and much you can get. Newbies and perhaps some old oldbies say 2-3months need orientations like this. Nice post @stellabelle you Rock.

the only followers you want are passionate fans. The rest will just wither away eventually.

Hi @stellabelle, I understand the contect od social media very well. We shouldn't ask for someone to follow us. He will do it by him self if we provide a proper informations he needs. Thanks for your info.

Regard from Aceh, Indonesia.

Exactly right.

problem with new users they trying to find money button and easy way to earn followers first money, thats why we got so many this kind of posts,comments :) after some time usually people learn or just go away from steemit .

well, too many people entered at once, so they didn't know how it works in here, and what kind of behavior actually generated Steem. Steem comes from "Esteem"

i think we need to update guide in welcome section, so people actually will see more specific guide, not just spam ;)

Hello there! I've said this many times in my comments! I have like 20 days and took me 2 to realize how important it is to just be yourself in order to get success, yet being ourselves seems like a bit overrated nowadays. I don't know-get-understand how people don't have the decency of reading the posts and put an honest opinion about it. Is it that hard to due that? I undestand many of us have economic struggles, I have them, like most of people. But like you said this is not the approach. Hopefully they eventually know their mistakes if not this is good for us, people who really care about the plattaform and how ir works. Best Regards!

nice post, bro.
(:))

So mean! :(

i was joking! I got too serious in me trying to reply to every single comment...i gave up....

I know! no worries, Cheers!

There are 3 pages
Pages