Last A Little Longer

in #shortstory5 years ago

"Right there!" He shouted excitedly.

His finger was extended, pointing proudly at a large oak tree. I turn my gaze to the tree, pretending to search for the large squirrel that was so obviously there, playing along so I could see him happy just a bit longer. The air was filled with snow and bubbly laughter. My heart melted at the sight of his happiness: eyes squinted, nose scrunched, and a big, wide grin on his face.

"Ohh I see it now! Gosh, you have such a knack for finding the best things, don't you?"

I give him a nudge on his shoulder and he giggles in response. He suddenly goes in a coughing fit, and I go into a panic as alarm bells go off in my head until it stops just as abruptly as it came. Reaching over I give him a big hug, tumbling both us both onto the warm blanket I had set down. My head thumps down on the grass and he lands on top of me, both of us facing up towards the afternoon sky. His body seemed so small compared to mine. I give him a faint smile and he knows what I'm about to say. My heart feels tight in my chest as his bright smile becomes the slightest bit dimmer.

I stroke his hair, almost as a habit. "C'mon bud, you know what to do," I say in a whisper so to keep my voice from cracking.

My fingers continue to twirl and twine in his hair as I wait for his response. He doesn't budge. A small sigh escapes my lips and the heat creates a small cloud in front of me. We take a moment to look up at the sky, marveling at its beauty. I could only wish that this moment could stay a bit longer.

"Do we have to...?" he murmurs under his breath.

I squeeze my eyes tight and slowly raise myself up. I give him a sly glance and start tickling him. He yells, laughing hysterically, playfully protesting at my oncoming attacks. I laugh with him, quickly swooping him up and propping him on my shoulders. "On we go!" I shout, marching like children to our destination. Laughing, bumbling children, the best kind.

A few minutes later I walk through the door, greeted by friendly faces and the familiar, sickening smell of a hospital. I slowly bring him down and have him wait near the entrance as I readmit him. I turn around and my heart cracks a little when I see him huddled in the corner, wrapping himself into a small ball.

"Hey, bud," I say, slowly walking towards him. He glances up at me and I could tell he's on the verge of crying. Another crack. I crouch down and kiss his forehead, touching his with mine as I close my eyes. "It'll be okay," I reassure him. "The treatment will be long, but it'll be good for you."

He gives a slight nod and I hear my name being called. Giving another kiss I turn to see a nurse, a smile plastered on her face. She takes him by the hand and my heart seizes in my chest but I let it go. She's here to help. Suddenly he jerks his arm from her grasp and rushes towards me, fumbling with something in his jacket.

Reaching me he whispers a goodbye, placing it between my fingers. He quickly returns to the nurse, leaving me alone. I look at what he gave me and see a small handmade card with the words Mom titled on its cover. I read through it, word by word, the words starting to blur from my tears. I knew that every time he wrote a letter, the last words were always I love you, but this time they were the first words.

The words "I'll miss you," replaced it. Another crack and I realize that I'm on the ground, sobbing.


Okay wow, that became much sadder than I thought it would end up. Sorry about that! ^^; I conscientiously started this story, but then a moment of finger tapping later this came as a result! Now I'm not really sure about what sort of disease that he actually has but I'd say along the lines of some chronic lung disease (Maybe bronchiectasis?). Sorry for the random hiatus as well! I'm hoping to make a merrier story soon, but we'll see. My inspiration for writing seems to go up and down~

Thank you for taking the time to read my post! Please up-vote, re-steem, and consider following me for more content. :) Don't be afraid to comment either!