Don't wait until it's too late to pursue your dreams - #showcase-sunday

snail.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Don't wait on your dreams

pageBreak.png

I wrote this post about a month into my Steem journey. It is crazy how much has changed in my life since I wrote the post, but the moral of it still rings true. I am still pursuing my dreams every day. My wife recently quit her job and started a new one about an hour and a half ago, but that is a whole new post on its own. The thing is, don't wait for things to change in your life, you need to make that change, or else it will end up being too late.

Here is the post I wrote so long ago, but is still applicable today:

I spent almost 10 years of my life in the military and when I got out, I spent the next 6 years in law enforcement. So when I decided to quit my law enforcement career and go back to school at 32 years old, it was quite the adjustment. I didn't really have a clue what I wanted to go to school for, so my first degree was in web and app development. During my second semester in that degree I had my first coding class for app building and I learned really fast that coding in C++ was really not my cup of tea. Luckily I got my first camera, a Canon T5i, on sale during black Friday and started playing around with it. I had always messed around taking pictures and making skate videos when I was younger, but being in the military and law enforcement has a way of destroying your creative mind.

wwest180824_2284.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

I enrolled in my first photography class and fell in love with it. I didn't want to lose all of the work I had been doing with my web development courses so I switched my focus to web and UX design from focusing on back end coding and app development. Over the next year and a half I finished almost all of the lower division courses in my degree plan, and took every photography course that I could take from digital to developing film in the darkroom.

I was on a walk one summer morning at about 10 and it was already starting to get close to 95 degrees outside. I came across this snail in the middle of the sidewalk just parked there. At night the snails would cross from one side of the sidewalk to the other to get from one bush to the other, but this one must have started his journey too late. Seeing this snail halfway in the sidewalk got me thinking about my life. I started to think about how much I enjoyed photography and that the school offered a digital cinema program that I always wanted to be a part of. I started to think about how much I would enjoy a future doing that instead of sitting in an office behind a computer. I didn't want to end up like the snail, and start my journey too late and pursue my dreams later in life. That snail inspired me to change my degree again to cinema and put everything in to perfecting my photography and learning as much as I can.

africa.jpeg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Since I started my journey I have traveled to the other side of the world to take pictures and there is no telling what the future has in store for me. I plan on continuing to travel and take pictures and make travel documentaries.

thailand.jpeg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

The moral of my story is that you can find inspiration for change in the smallest places and not to put off pursuing your dreams. If that snail would have started his journey earlier he would have made it across the sidewalk. Go and change the world and make it a better place.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Check the last changes here

This is a fantastically inspirational story, particularly to those of us (me) who are in that situation right now; I know what I want to do, but struggle with it for a variety of reasons. Gotta keep the goal in mind.

Nothing will happen unless you take action and influence a change

Great inspiration! I would argue that most ot the time is not too late to make the changes you need in your life; you just need that click and make the first step!