You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I wonder if this old Dutch coin is real?

Hi. I checked and there are only a handfull of known false dukatons and those are VOC coins often copied in Sri Lanka and India for tourists with VOC trade makr on the coin. The copy the VOC 5 cents but not the DUkatons. As said only 3 known and bad copies.

The chopmark (!! nice) and the details I studied convince me that it is real.

The coin looks similar to other older Dukatons and the mintstrike was never really beautifull as they were made quickly as trade coins.

As for value : 200 to 400 for a Duakton and half for a half dukaton.
I am happy to sell it for you here in an auction!
Just send it to me (and you never hear of me again!)

Sort:  

Oh wow, I only paid $65! When I started looking for this coin on ebay I couldn't find one which started me thinking this might not be real. I may take you up on that offer if you're are serious. Thanks for the info, cool!!

I am serious but no guarantee. Maybe try on Ebay first yourself of else in the future I can use catawiki here in Europe. Most dukaton buyers will be in Netherlands I guess.
No guarantee ofcourse and 9% auction costs...(a reserve might be possible if they agree the coins is worth a couple of hundreds...

OK I understand. I have been an ebay seller in the past and still sell things there from time to time so I may try them first. Oh those #%@$! fees 🤬
Appreciate the offer and all the info. Have a great weekend gr!