Preview of Custom Steemit.com Skins by @maximkichev

in #skins8 years ago (edited)

Super Busy ...

Sorry I haven't been around and for the lack of a witness update. Wedding preparation has taken priority (10 days now!) and apologies for not being able to even have a post to say that.

Approached By A Community Member

In the last couple days, I've had a member of the STEEM community approach me with some custom Steemit.com skins that he created. He asked if I would be willing to put up a post to showcase some of the customer skin designs he's done to which I agreed. I particularly like the Night Mode Skin.

All SBD earned will go towards @maximkichev.

Without further ado, here's Maxim in his own words.

Night Mode And Other Skins

Design plays a great role in our world. If you surround yourself with images that are visually pleasing, then you will feel like creating which will in turn make you spend your work time more productively. If you feel bad, your mood will improve. If you are tired, it will boost energy to your body.

In other words, aesthetics improve living standards

Designers and artists contribute to the daily routine of most people. In our modern and advanced world, careful thought and planning goes into choosing the right style and form. The demand in design is rising, when the level of community is high. Design should always be a step ahead and forward-thinking.

Design is not only a reformer and agent of change, but also kind of a controller of that change.

Design, even if it is just an idea, can predict the development of a project, help to avoid mistakes, which in future can adversely affect a user. Changes are integral parts of our life.

Many of us spend spend all nights long on Steemit, and for them, I specifically come up with following theme. 

Night Mode

vs. Current Look


Steemit's design is ideal now. I don't see any reason for big changes. But I have some other ideas that make me happy.

Alternative Banners

And Some Designs for the Ladies (We Can't Forget Them)

Conclusion

Anyway, I was trying to work with Maxim to put these on his own branch of Steemit.com (to which he has at least created a github account). Unfortunately, I'm not a github guru (far from it -- I think I use a fresh copy everytime I want to do any changes and am always confused by the various merges that can exist). In short, if anyone knows the best way to help him in pushing to his own local branch some of his changes, that'd be great!

I hope you like his work -- I know I did!

Please comment and provide suggestions for him. Maxim is eager to make these types of designs.

Sort:  

They need to branch, then add these changes, then create a pull request back to the "head" (steemit's main repository).

At least then the dev team will be able to check them out an offer feedback.

By the way, I really like some of these, and think it's a great idea. Anything to get away from that god awful Facebook blue!

I like these steemit modifications by @maximkichev, nice work! A little variety will be nice; it's good to have choices.

It must be exciting to have your wedding day approaching so soon. Wishing you all the best!

Thanks!

Having options is always good.

wow! amazing skins. Please, at least apply "Night Mode Skin". It's awesome :)

superb themes ............ please, make available as soon as possible

All themes are so nice ...... please, add these features as soon as possible

Cool, man) I like it, especially with dolpins... But why is the background red, it is as if they are in blood)) anyways, it seems like a cool idea to have these design options on Steemit... upvoted

Knew you were gone for a little for a great update! Nice job @maximkichev & @complexring in due diligence I would give my feedback, cheers!

Yes thank you !

i like the night mode design.

yes I also like!

Oh that's nice. I would definitely use that dark one to save my monitor :-)

They are superb indeed, BUT I've already seen it argued that such customization is part of what killed MySpace and the consistency across the entire platform was a huge part of Facebook's success. New users felt comfortable wherever they were, and exploring was easy because nothing changed from page to page.
No disrespect to the creator of the skins, but I'm about 75% against it. But then again, these particular skins don't alter the site as much as Myspace's whacky varieties did.

MySpace failed due to many reasons (marketing, probably the primary reason), whereas, Facebook was a success due to (initial) exclusivity.

Also, MySpace was horrible in that they allowed (nearly) arbitrary HTML code for their design. These types of skins are non-invasive and don't change much of anything, as you point out.

Great additional points there, and I appreciate the vote @complexring - following.
In MySpace's defense, I did land a college aged girlfriend whom I dated for about 5 months before she had to move back to Serbia by being active on it, so it will always have a warm spot in my heart - thanks Tom!

Nice skins! love it!

On your wedding, it must be busy! But i am sure @edgeland must be excited! Hope to see some lovely fotos :-)

The first one, the night mode is gorgeous. I always like dark themes, it's more elegant, and easier for the eye, the white light hurts your eyes if you look at it a lot. And I do look at Steemit a lot!

These are great thanks @maximkichev for your hard work, and @complexring for drawing attention to it .

Best wishes for the wedding too - no need to apologize @complexring steemit isn't going anywhere and this is a massive deal - you guys should take your time and make the most of it :) Congrats!

I really would love to see nightmode being implemented

Sorry to post this here, but when will the next witness update be?

Thanks for sharing this information @complexring!

Very nice of you to share your platform like that and these skins are pretty cool too.

This is a great idea. Cheers!

 8 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

Not yet. It'd be cool to see these types of changes integrated. I'm not a GUI designer, but it's nice to see some open-source options from the community.