Jumping from 13,000 feet

in #skydiving6 years ago (edited)

For as long as I can remember I've been scared of heights. It isn't just the dread and semi vertigo I get whenever I look down from a great (or not so great) height. It's the irrational fear that someone is going to push me off. So I got this idea to try and finally conquer my fear. I would do a skydive. Plus it was on my bucket list so I had to do it. I figured that psychologists try to help people battle their fears by slowly making them face them. For example, someone suffering from Arachnophobia is first shown a picture of a spider, then they are introduced to a spider in a covered box, then slowly they are introduced to a spider a few feet away and gradually the spider is brought closer to them until eventually it is put into their hands. I was going to bypass all that and just jump out of a plane.

1273522_10151910351758179_1488557255_o.jpg

So after a lot of research I decided on UK Parachuting. They had really good reviews and most importantly no-one had died jumping with them. I booked it as soon as possible as I didn't want too much time before the jump as I'd probably back out. The drive up was a bit of a blur as was the training and waiting to go up in the plane. All I can really remember was going to the toilet an inordinate number of times. So finally it was our turn and my instructor walked me to the plane. As you can see from the photo above it was a small plane with all but the front 2 seats removed. By now it was starting to sink in what I was about to do and I was bricking it. The plane went up very fast and at a very steep angle which did not help my nerves. Before I knew it the door was opened and people started to jump out. I was naturally last just to prolong the torture. So my instructor connected the straps and we slowly inched our way to the door with me moving as slow as humanly possible. Sitting on the edge of the plane looking down was probably the scariest part of the whole jump and we seemed to sit their for ages. I felt sick to my stomach. Then we jumped.

1262709_10151910354403179_1039515145_o.jpg

After we got level and started the freefall I relaxed a bit and the sensation was amazing. Apparently you fall at 120 mph and descent to 5,000 feet in 40 seconds. I can well believe it. Then the parachute opened and it yanks you up incredibly quickly. The sensation is a bit like that of a rollercoaster. After that you slowly descent to earth and the thing you notice most is how quiet and serene it is. Once the parachute opened I relaxed a bit more, although the instructor had to loosen the straps somewhat as we were too tightly connected which was a bit nerve wracking as I kept imaging him uncoupling us by mistake. Of course that never happened.

1274259_10151910357093179_2023822550_o.jpg

The feeling of floating down was just magical and worth all the fear and trepidation. Taking in the scenery and silence was just memorising and I'm so glad I did it. I even loved the freefall, it was just so exhilarating. You can't believe you are falling to earth and the rush was indescribable. After about 5 minutes it was all over and we landed and it just felt amazing. I was so glad I did it and if anyone is having second thoughts don't. It is one experience you won't forget and if like me you got the jump recorded it is something you can look back in years to come and even show your children or grandchildren.

1294371_10151910363483179_172900790_o.jpg

Oh and in case you are wondering if it cured by fear of heights - it did not. Still really glad I did though.

Don't think about it - Just do it!!!