You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Enter the Nightlands: My Nocturnal Lifestyle, and the Perils of Sleep Cycle Inversion

in #sleep6 years ago

I too, miss Laura and her presence. Everytime I see my steam friends list and her offline status, it reminds me of what a genuine human being we lost.

She essentially stapled me to this platform.

Onto the nightowlness. I used to work a role that saw me do shifts 6pm-4am. I slept during the day, I woke up 5pm, and went to bed around 8am.

I had "cereal" for "lunch" (at 10pm, most nights), and it was bizzare. You really tend to become more in touch with those around you; and there's a certain shared madness due to those other legitimate night walkers.

They're roadworkers, nurses, or people who have had a single rough night. You'll come across those regulars, and some you'll never see again as their headlights blind you for a moment as they travel the opposite way.

I can appreciate that it is lonely out there. I can appreciate that times are tough at the moment.

At least you've got a fucking flamethrower, though.

If you need to rant to a stranger, I'll be here to read it.

Sort:  

That means a lot to me, man.