I can now for once in my life get some good sleep

in #sleep7 years ago (edited)

A couple nights ago I couldn't fall asleep for hours and I had no clue why. So I decided to look up some ways that I could fall asleep faster. According to the website I found these methods are scientifically proven to work. So with the help of my brothers we tested these methods and they all seemed to work. Now I would like to share these methods with you (steemians) to help you get the Zzzs that you need. I have not personally tested all of these but I can say that the 2nd and 3rd ones work. Also, these methods are scientifically proven so it wouldn't hurt at trying these out yourself.
falling asleep.jpg
#1 Try to stay awake
A small study conducted at the University of Glasgow found that sleep-onset insomniacs who were instructed to lay in bed and try to stay awake with their eyes open fell asleep quicker than participants told to fall asleep without this “paradoxical intention” (PI). Participants in the PI group fell asleep easier and showed less sleep performance anxiety.
music asleep.jpg
#2 Listen to Music
Studies have shown that classical music, or any music that has a slow rhythm of 60 to 80 beats per minute, can help lull you to sleep. In a 2008 study, students aged 19 to 28 who listened to relaxing classical music for 45 minutes before bed showed significant improvement in sleep quality. Bonus: They also reported decreased symptoms of depression.

#3 Keep your room cool
When you’re falling asleep, your body temperature drops slightly, which some experts believe actually helps the process along, according to the Harvard Medical School. The National Sleep Foundation recommends a bedroom temperature of 60 to 67 degrees F for the most sleep-friendly conditions.

#4 Hide your clock
Hide the clock. Constantly checking the time only increases your stress, making it harder to turn down the dial on your nervous system and fall asleep.
socks on feet.jpg
#5 Wear socks to bed
warm feet and hands were the best predictor of rapid sleep onset. In the study, participants placed a hot water bottle at their feet, which widened the blood vessels on the surface of the skin, thereby increasing heat loss. Shifting blood flow from your core to your extremities cools down your body, working in concert with melatonin.

I hope this hopes any of you that couldn't get your sleep. please comment if there are any other methods that you know of and if this helped you. link to the website that I found this information: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/15-ways-to-fall-asleep-faster_us_55dde3e7e4b04ae497054470

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/15-ways-to-fall-asleep-faster_us_55dde3e7e4b04ae497054470