Dan Larimer As Blockchain Bodhisattva: Creative Commons Art For EOS

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

danlarimer.jpg

art by @stellabelle for @slothicorn, A Creative Commons Crypto Art Community

cc.png
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

I've been wanting to draw Dan Larimer for as long as I can remember.

It was an intimidating prospect since I'm not the best illustrator in the world, but at 3 am this morning, I had this vision in my head that would not go away.

Many people in Steemit still may not be understanding the concept of Slothicorn, so I wanted to create a post that would explain it better. This is it.

Slothicorn belongs to everyone and no one.

Slothicorn is Creative Commons crypto art which carries the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. I feel like I have been creating creative commons art for my whole life, I just didn't know this until now.

Actually, it wasn't until I saw my artwork on the official EOS.IO website, that I realized I needed to form an official Creative Commons crypto art movement. I created that image of Dan's head mixed with code (bottom right corner), and I was really happy when I discovered he had used it in his blog, which then ended up on THE OFFICIAL EOS.IO WEBSITE! This sparked the idea for Slothicorn..........

eosdan.jpeg
screenshot of official eos.io website

This post is an example of Creative Commons crypto art.

I decided to choose the EOS project as my subject. As you know, Block.one is creating open source software for EOS. So, even though this art is not commissioned or endorsed by Block.One or Dan Larimer, or anyone associated with EOS.IO, I decided to create this for anyone, including anyone involved with EOS, to use freely, for any purpose whatsoever, including commercial purposes. (As long as they give me credit....as is part of the CC 4.0 BY License).

This is the entire concept behind Slothicorn: to help the businesses, crypto projects and blockchain innovations by building a Creative Commons crypto art library, and reward the creators with STEEM. Just like Utopian completes the circle of Open Source, we aim to complete the circle of Creative Commons Crypto Art.

If you understand that in the future the various businesses, crypto tribes and everyone else, including Lara Shin of Forbes, will be needing Creative Commons art that is focused on the crypto world, then you get it. I use Creative Commons art everyday, and this is my way of paying it forward. I think we can build something amazing, and we can free even more people with our gifts, while we are earning varying amounts of crypto as we do this work for the commons.

I personally am excited, like it was Christmas or something and that is because I will be devoting my future to this mission. I am excited by the challenge of creating immense value to the entire cryptocurrency world, in the form of graphics, art and other assorted gems. For me, this is the beginning. If this resonates with you, join us in the Slothicorn Discord channel: https://discord.gg/GWQHDdR. You might think that the Slothicorn is a silly little make believe animal, but do not underestimate its razor-sharp claws. Slothicorn has a serious mission.

There is one more thing. I was thinking that artists can put their crypto wallet address at the end of their post. In case someone who owns vast amounts of EOS is feeling generous as they happen to find your post traveling through the interwebs, they can send you a little tip. I was going to put my own EOS address below, but I think it would make more sense to put @empath's address there instead. It's the holiday season, and time to give. So, @empath, i need your EOS Wallet address.....

GIFT EOS WALLET ADDRESS:

And one more thing, notice how i did the tags: slothicorn slothicorneos creativecommons eos eosio

[The reason for the 'slothieos' tag is because when a programmer builds a block explorer for slothicorn.com (hint hint), we can filter out the results according to which crypto coin the art contains. So the artist uses the word, 'slothicorn' then adds the name of the crypto in the tag. So, there will be 'slothbitcoin' 'slothdash' slothiota', etc.

This way, we can see only the creative commons art made for EOS, instead of having all the EOS random posts mixed in. This will help us create a better user experience for those creative people who want a more streamlined user experience.]

cc.png
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

By the way, if you enter the Slothicorn art contest, you have to use the Creative Commons License and include the graphic above. If not, it will not be accepted into our contest and you won't get upvoted by the official @slothicorn account.

PLEASE READ THE OFFICIAL SLOTHICORN ART CONTEST RULES: https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@stellabelle/win-this-crypto-survival-kit-in-slothicorn-s-first-art-contest

Even thought the splash page for Steemit says "Money Talks", I still replace that hollow blurb with "Welcome to the new Gift Economy" in my mind.

Cheers,
Stella

Sort:  

Great initiative =)
I'm happy to see that all the efforts and time, from the team of EOS, BTS and Steem ,are rewarded.
The market is starting to understand how genius is Dan. Thing that we both knew for a while =)

I wish i was a millionaire so i could send some huge tips to those artists to support them and this project.

Buy EOS now, and you never know.....

@stellabelle - where are you buying your EOS? I'm finding it hard to purchase

Binance

nice post.

impressive post (y)

I have posted a lot of good posts. I like to have a very knowledgeable post. I have read a post. I really learned a lot. I learned a lot. I am waiting for your post to be received later. I hope to get your next post soon

Slotheos has a great ring to it. I never knew Dan used the image on the site. I thought he only used it on steemit. Good job on the image. It sure looks like him the serial innovator, magic nerd with the midas touch of gold!

So, we should make it easier, by using 'slotheos' slothdash' 'slothiota' right?

Yes, I think it's easier on the eye and mouth and easily remembered too.

Check you out on the EOS website!

Dans EOS 'belt' looks pretty funky, I need a new belt too. My first 'art' project ever could be about to begin!

Best of luck, and those with actual talent (unlike me), wtf are you waiting for! chop chop!

Nice art you did there. Can you tell us more about how did you made it?

Sure! First I got the photo of Dan's head from Google.
Then I used Gimp to draw shapes, starting with the eyeball. I just drew over the digital photo until all the photo was covered by my shapes.
After that, I searched on Pixabay for "kali" and "bodhisattva". I found one and imported that image. I drew over the body parts, filling in the colors. This body is actually a girl.......(part of the mystery of dieties is that some of them contain both genders, hence, universal).
After that, i searched for a good background on Unsplash.
Finally, I added the block, and globe and other bits of code, etc., by searching on Pixabay for "future".

wow you clearly have the workaround all figured out! Congratulations!

i've been doing this stuff for decades. I was a production artist for 7+ years, and freelance after that.

You are good dear

SLOTHICORN!

What a name?!

I love the idea. ANd I love the idea/situation that sparked it...even more

You did one good work on Dan's pix and the universe rewarded you with another idea...

And that YOGA art image is outta this world dear.

That was how I had my own idea for #AIR-CLINIC. ...the first healthcare service built on the blockchain. @air-clinic is a conglomeration of health-experts, health-enthusiasts and clients all with one goal to provide quick, affordabe, accessible, 24/7 healthcare everyone globally ...

Pillars_of_Air_Clinic.png


So back to the topic at hand. IDEAS are good and the STEEM BLOCKCHAIN enables all of them and all of us to live our dreams...

Gandhi should have been alive to see his quotes come to life;

"BEING THE CHANGE WE WANT TO SEE IN THE WORLD" HAS NEVER BEEN EASIER!

CHEERS!

@AIR-CLINIC

Some of my best investments have been Dan’s creations. I will join this contest😁

Nice drawing! I really enjoyed it!

Thanks. It was nice to get my vision out into the world

"at 3 am this morning, I had this vision in my head that would not go away."

Sounds like me, I get more creative whenever the clock ticks after midnight. I don't why maybe it's the serenity?

Hi, Stella! One of my friends introduced me to you and asked me to visit you. I haven't met you here or maybe I did but I memory is not good anymore.

I still don't know why am on your page but could please answer tell me why you called yourself "Wolf of Steem"? I love it!

Well, it's a play on Wolf of Wall Street and Wolf of Poloniex.

thanks for sharing your valuable concept..i appreciate to your concept..best of luck...

It is a delight to read your posts again. I still remember your fun picnic in KC and how happy you were to be with others of similar interests. I was shy in meeting you for realz, but thankful. And thankful because of you I met @Papa-Pepper, @Sykochica, and @VirtualGrowth amongst others. I chatted with a fellow who was not on steemit but just came by and we talked about blockchain. He had a funny little kid that played with MonsterTruck, one of the mighty @littlepeppers.

Tis been an interesting road, but I doubled down on my 25 years of page and stage and helped found CSZStLouis.com. Then stepped down to balance family, improv, and reinvesting in steemit and blockchain. I truly believe there is a place in this world for some kind of ImprovCoin, a blockchain/token/coin to empower the improv community. Improv, like blockchain, has seen a booming renaissance in past decades. It is everywhere, and while it is a passion for millions, it is still mostly a "Pay to Play" activity not just for audiences but for players.

I appreciate your passion for blockchain. I appreciate seeing the time and energy you give to others through creativity and freedom. It's inspiring and helps me continue my humble efforts to balance time here, on steemit, and engaging improvisers and artists not on the platform. I have a facebook group, since that is where most of my friends and family still are. A crashed phone reset caused me to loose access to discord and telegram. But I never understood why there was so much steemit related activity on them to begin with... here on steemit is where the rewards are. Why aren't we engaging more in comments? Why hasn't a developer created a chat/group/ability on steemit? Who knows, maybe that's where eos comes in.

EOS, how i want that to work. Your portrait of Dan is fun. The project promises a significant leap forward and I look forward to learning more. However I do not understand why it is so hard to obtain through the USA. WIll that make it's application also difficult. I have tried two VPNs now and both time been given the same message of being prohibited because of a USA IP address detection. I have not given up though. Will be trying again tomorrow with a different VPN. But i am interested in it because of things like you are doing. I hope your slothicorn community continues to grow. I have thought, based on the little i understand, that EOS is the answer to Tokenizing Improv, and making the "Starving Artist" a thing of the past.

Wishing you well. Hope to someday bring you to town for one of our weekly St Louis Steemit Bitcoin Happy Hours. I have an improv friend with some charming AirBnB's not too far from the theater, near the botanical gardens. He and his wife are both PHD Doctors, but they do improv and run AirBnB's, just a nice couple who have found bliss. If you are ever passing through St Louis for any reason, please let me know and I will put you in contact with them.

Wishing you, and the Slothicorn crew, all the very best. ~JTS

Just use Binance.

i see...

@stellabelle What would be really cool is if you had the ghost of Steve Jobs meditating next to him.

wow...... Creative ... nice post ... Thanks for share this

You're always on the cutting edge! Never dull or boring. I think crypto and art are an ideal combo for your future success! Cheers!

so much to say in this field

I wish i was a millionaire.........
tumblr_mqjkntvmRO1qix8jfo1_400.gif

This is hilarious and very fitting for him. I will seek you guys out in the discord channel and see whats going on there.

BTW I just made a post trying to encourage discussion on the ethical aspects of certain crypto. I was wondering if you or @slothicorn has anything to say about that. I would love if you had something to comment as I'd like to invest not only in something that can make me money but also something I believe in. Link here:

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@whatamidoing/what-cryptocurrencies-do-you-think-are-the-most-ethical

Im always late to the game.

/me sets clock to stella time

This is epic. I didnt know the guy but it looks so much like him, lol.