Your Cryptocurrency at work – New Greenworks Lawnmower

Recently, before the drop in BTC value I cashed out some crypto and purchased a new lawnmower and string trimmer. I would have never bought these things if it were not for the help of coins like Steem. With this downturn in prices it helps me to remind myself of how much my life has improved because of my efforts.

What kinds of things have you purchased, or how has your life changed from crypto?

I really didn’t need a new lawnmower, I have used a push mower for years. As I have aged this has become more difficult though and I have a pain in my side that gets worse when I do this activity. The grass grows so fast in the spring that I finally decided that I should spend a little to make my life easier.

I used to have an electric mower before I got the push mower but I didn’t like it that much. It used an extension cord that I would often wrap around trees and worry about running over with the mower. I never had an accident with it but I imagine that running over the cord would not be fun.

I ended up trading my cord powered electric mower to an older gentleman for the nice push mower that I really enjoyed.

Now I’m older and the push mower is getting less use and I have a nice battery powered electric mower. This is a really nice Greenworks mower, I’m very happy with it. I used it to do my entire yard and put the same battery into the string trimmer and cleaned up the edges. When I was done the battery was only half depleted and it charged back up really fast.

I used the mower to mulch the grass clippings so I didn’t need to bag anything. When I was done the yard didn’t have a lot of grass clippings on it, like it does from the push mower, and I just cleaned out some of the mulch from the mower and put it under my rock rose bushes.

mower.jpg
Greenworks mower – click for viewing full screen

This mower is really quiet. It justs purrs along on a slow speed most of the time but when I was doing the high grass on the side of yard it went automatically into high speed. There was plenty of power with the 60 volt battery to cut the overgrown grass. With my push mower I would really have to work to cut the thick high grass.

It does make enough noise so that the little frogs that I see in the spring time jump out of the way. Here’s one that was trying to hide by the foundation on the house when it heard the mower coming.

frog.jpg
Frog hiding by the house foundation – click for viewing full screen

Another nice thing about this mower is that it does not pollute much. Most of the electricity around here is generated through hydroelectric power plants and wind farms.

There is no gas to mess with and worry about spilling. No tune ups, oil or maintenance to worry about. Just plug in the battery and mow. Very easy and fun.

I’ll probably still use the push mower sometimes if the grass is mostly dried out and my side is not bothering me. I like using that too.

The new mower stores really well, here’s a comparison of the old and new mowers:

mowers.jpg
Old and new mowers – click for viewing full screen

The new string trimmer is really high powered. Even on the low setting it is more than enough to do what I need it for very fast. The older string trimmer that I had used a 24 volt lead acid type battery. The battery was expensive to replace and did not last that long. With a push mower, I was always overusing my string trimmer and running the battery down, but now with the newer mover I probably could have spared the expense of upgrading the trimmer. The problem with this old design is that it is hard to swap out the battery if you run it down in the middle of a job and it takes a long to recharge.

The new trimmer uses the same battery as the mower so I can easily swap batteries if I need to.

I will probably give away my old trimmer now.

stringTrimmers.jpg
Old and new trimmers – click for viewing full screen

These new battery powered electric tools are great. I was looking at the equipment that a lawn care service was using and wondering why they still used gas powered stuff. If I was working all day doing this type of work I would much rather have a less noisy mower that didn’t pollute, especially if I was breathing the fumes all day.


Thanks for reading! I always value your comments and support. Photos were taken by me with my Galaxy S7 and S9 plus.

Sort:  

I saw that mower at lowes but was kinda skeptical because of the battery and wondered how long it would last but I'm glad you like it. I have an 18v black and decker trimmer that I like using quite a but but the battery power dies down really quick if you're doing a lot of continuous cutting. Better batteries make all the difference...

The mower comes with a 4 amp battery and the trimmer has a 2 amp one. They make a 5 amp one you can get too. I doubt I will ever need that. You can really easily swap them out and charge them fast. I wasn't sure it would cut the tall grass but it did great. I think the newer batteries are much better than the older ones.

You write so understand every word you want to write, I often follow each of your writing. Steemit is basically created for bloggers or write articles that have benefits to the reader, I once wrote, and I include men who have a hobby of writing and reading, the lack of supporters, I once wrote up to 1000 words, but I am tired, I just got a taunt, because my writing is ugly, and I stop writing .. greetings from me Sir @lightsplasher

It can be hard to get started; I used to write much longer articles but found that they generally were not worth the effort especially when you are starting out. Sorry you got a taunt.

yes, since the business lands are scattered on this platform, now it's a lot of good content but not appreciated, but that's not a reason to lower my spirits. my friend, help me, tomorrow I start again take the pen that I throw away last month. @lightsplasher

The picture of the frogg , trying to hide is good shot...

Buddy you totally forgot me.. please keep me in your eyes and pray for me.

hope you are very well

7850E8B6-235C-481D-884B-165D9B7EB159.jpeg

I resteemed ur post

Thank you, I hope you are doing well too.

Yes i am good to. Feel free visit my profile buddy..

I congratulate you with new purchases!

Thank you. I'm glad that I took a bit out when the prices were high.

It heartens me to know that Steem has made you life better. That frog was the cutest:) Things will turn up again. I believe. There are so many good folks on here and we will see steemit through these bumpy times:)

I think that this is just a temporary slump, but who knows. I bought "the dip?" this morning and tanked up on some more Steem power so I guess I must be feeling optimistic, lol. I always really like those frogs when I see them they are cute.

From the looks of things this morning, it is slowly coming back up. I think as long as we use the system, we are good:)

At your age that is old like that lawn mower is very useful and help for you, my dear @lightsplasher.

may you always be given health by God,and also hopefully eased in all the work... 🙂🙂🙂😊

Thank you @walad may you be blessed by God as well. I am very happy and grateful for the lawnmower.

U'r welcome my dear @lightsplasher ☺😊

really my friend my opinion during BTC decline I also feel there is this less about me or my income but this can be a reminder for us when crypto again above then we also have to know yourself.
I really need your help my friend has been two weeks off of steemit.
please help my friend
Thanks you my friend @lightsplasher

It is a good time to blog and hold onto your crypto. The nice thing about Steem is that what we earn now can be worth more later if things to pick up again. It is very tough to know what will happen though.

it's really amazing you guys are proud of you.
I also had time to buy home goods money from steemit and very useful also useful for my house.
just now crypto again decreases we have to be patient and try to continue to grow do not back down when crypto decline.
i like the machine is my friend ..
please visit my account my friends need senior help.
Thanks you my senior @lightsplasher

I'm glad you got some home goods when crypto was up.

Thanks you my teacher @lightsplasher.
Youare the best people

Mower make our job more easy, thanks for your sharing to us informative post, i have upvote and resteem your post to more than 1450 my follower, greeting friendship from me @abialfatih

Brother Upvote me......

Hello I like This Blog Can you Like My Or Restreemit I am New here Just Exploring

Mower is very effective because it can help us to cut grass, your machine still looks very good, even where I have no machine like you have

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 20:52:11
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 50.75/100.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

very good post my friend and success always make you my good friend yes .. and please help me so my good friend yes @lightsplasher

I like the story and experience of your friends and I also experience the same thing but open the machine that I bought my home materials.
Hehehe
Thanks for share my best friend

The crypto world has brought many people into changing and developing. Cryto is the solution to start a bright thing for the future, brother @lightsplasher.

*** thank you my best friend, i read your personality everyday remember me in life very simple you are very clever organize daily life, i am very amazed to see your personality everyday day, i really love your life everyday want it like to learn about life to you thank ***

Hi @lightsplasher, It's good post on smartphonephotography! I enjoyed your content.
It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit !

A good lawn machine if in my country it's a rich person who wear if in your country maybe anyone can memb

Glad you caught the right moment. The frog is so cute! I didn't cash out until now and I am prepared to hold for a long time

Congrats on your new acquisitions! I imagine your progress will gladden several people seeing that you work to lift many up with you. I hope that with steemit some of the plans i've nursed can begin to come to reality. But hey! it was mean of you catching that frog so glaringly under camera light when the poor thing believes it's well hidden, lol. Great pix from your camera and thanks so much!

You write very understand every word you want to write, I often follow each of your writing.
today i need uvote you, my SBD is very little, but i never get tired of steemit, because i am here can write and work.
@lightsplasher
I need your uvote in some of my status.

you're the one who helps people in steemit, I have not found anything else.
hope you are in blessing @lightsplasher
thank for you🙏

a very good lawn mower hopefully his machine is very helpful in the problem of work thanks

i beg your help @lightplasher please visit my post.

do not forget me oh my friend @lightsplasher i need your help.

image

I dare not use this tool at all.

In Indonesia it is very difficult to find green frog like this
image

Nice tools! Now this is honestly a true story: When I was 6-7 years old we moved from an apartment to a house. Dad was never around so it was me and mom. I remember dad getting us a Sears electric mower. I had to use an extension cord. Now back then NO ONE used one. Im talking 45 years ago. I was too short to push on the normal part of the handle, so I ducked my head in and pushed from the lower cross member ...tooo close to the blade. If a parent did that today, they would have them on charges. They knew I had to get electric coz I was too young and little to pull the cord.