Little coconut story: how to get to coconut meat and water without machete

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hey my Steemit fellows!

today, I prepared a little guide/story about something that is very rare in Europe (where I come from) but very abundant in Mexico (where I am living now).

Yes, it is the coconut!

Let me first show you a shot of this amazing fruit in its most natural position, which is hanging on the palm tree :)

IMG_20170810_155625.jpg

Despite the huge size and sturdiness of the coconut, it is actually quite easy to pick it. A little twist usually helps.

IMG_20170520_183156_HDR.jpg

Once you get your coco home, you can embark on the hardest part of the job - getting to the good stuff inside :) While it takes just a few seconds with a machete, it can be a pretty lengthy and exhaustive process if you only have a knife.

IMG_20170608_142409.jpg

Yet, with some basic dexterity and a bit of patience...

IMG_20170608_142555.jpg

...you can have the job done this way too.

18556316_10209779278742059_7450595810505387413_n.jpg

You will be rewarded with a great deal of coconut meat and up to a half a liter (19 oz) of coconut water.

17992348_10209525109467986_1593179441888593509_n.jpg

Both are delicious, refreshing and super healthy! :)

As all of the photos featured in this post were taken by my smartphone, this is also my entry for today´s #smartphonephotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests.

Thank you for visiting my blog and voting for me in the contest :) Have a great weekend and see you in my next post!

(Je to pár jednoduchých anglických vět, tak jsem si řekl, že to hodím i do našeho českého rybníčka - mohlo by to zajímat například někoho z řad místních gastro nadšenců :) Taky je fakt, že čerstvé kokosy jsem u nás snad nikdy neviděl, tak aspoň malá názorná ukázka :)

Sort:  

Hello @phortun,
My favorite part of coconut is the meat when its still a gel!
I can never get enough :)

Are you coming to Acapulco? If you do let me know.

Hi! Yeah, the soft coconut meat is our favorite part too! :) Cooled coconut water is also delicious though. I would love to visit this part of Mexico but I am not sure if I make it... If I do, I will let you know :) Thanks for stopping by, Happy New Year!

Happy New Year Brother!

Wow, that's so cool! I loved eating coconuts on my travels, but never opened one myself.
The last time I had a fresh coconut was actually in Malaysia, I was couchsurfing (well, tentsurfing actually) with a guy living on a beach, he was a super funny guy. He did a show opening coconuts and sold them to tourists :D That's a photo of him in action:

01-jpp-20161026.jpg

Cool story and photo Julian! :D I did quite a lot of CS in the US back in 2010 but tentsurfing on a Malaysian beach (with this guy) sounds like a decent adventure! :D But yeah, picking, opening and eating/drinking a coconut by yourself is a great experience :) Come to visit us and I will give you a tutorial on that :D

I will definitely come to Mexico, but it will probably be not earlier than three years from now, I doubt you will still be there..

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @phortun to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Není nad čerstvě utržené ;-). To co dovážejí k nám je už jen "suchá" hmota, skoro bez užitku

Jo no. Zvažuju, jestli jeden tag nezměnit na "cesky" - myslíš, že by to naši komunitku zajímalo? Angličtina je to jednoduchá, pár krátkých vět...

Já bych proti nebyl. Řekl bych, že část čechů si to anglicky přečte a porozumí. Druhá část si to nepřečte nebo to budou ignorovat. A třetí část to může brát jako jazykovou lekci, ne? ;)

Ok, díky za názor :) Dám to tedy tam :)

úplně v pohodě. Akorát tam vlož aspoň jedno, dvě slova česky, ať to má "oprávnění" použít tag #cesky ;-)

Ano, to je fakt. Na to bych zapomněl.
Myslím, že taková anotace o 1 nebo 2 větách by byla fajn.

přesně tak ;-)

Obecně není na škodu psát dvojjazyčně, napřed anglicky, pak česky. Nezapomeneš-li na tag #cesky, dva nebo tři články denně ti svedeme odhlasovat a okomentovat, takže budou vypadat živěji ;)

Ne každý z nás měl to štěstí cestovat po celém světě a zážitky z cest na Steemit rozhodně patří. Nezapomeň, že to, co kolem sebe vídáš běžně, je pro spoustu lidí velká exotika. A to samozřejmě platí i pro fotky a příběhy z Čech.

Díky za reakci. Většinou poblikuju jenom jeden článek denně, ale i tak se snažím tag "cesky" dávat jen do postů určených výhradně Čechům (a tudíž psaných jen v češtině). O dvou jazykových verzích jsem zatím neuvažoval, možná to v budoucnu u kratších věcí zkusím :) Každopádně podporu české komunity u svých článků vnímám a vážím si jí. Věřím, že ji budu v budoucnu štědře oplácet :)

Nice post. Just came across your work and look forward to Following you.

Following you now.
@ohicklin

Thanks :) Will be keeping an eye on your content too :)

Yep, I've just got to check out Mexico soon. That's all there is to it!

Yeah, it is not that far from Nevada :)

I can totally relate to the time this took to prepare: coconuts are very hard work!

i think this photos are awsome great job man

love the colours of the top pic, really nice.

thank you :)

First picture is AWESOME

Thank you :) Actually it took little climbing up the palm to take this close-up :D

Ah good tips. Yes machete is easiest. I was hoping you had a non-knife secret method ;)

Ahoj!

Thanks for stopping by :) I did try to open some coconuts with a rock right on the beach but it didnt work out well :D Ahoj!

The first time I tried to open a coconut, it was a major struggle, thanks for posting this :)

You are welcome :) coconuts are tough guys! :D