You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Conversation About Empathy + Social Honesty 💏

in #socialhonesty7 years ago (edited)

I really appreciated the experience you shared in regard to honesty in a 5th grade Catholic school classroom. I can identify with that experience with my own similar experiences throughout my lifetime.

An excellent example of several things.

One, how children are given conflicting messages in regard to honesty.

Two, how being honest with people who use force and aren't understanding and compassionate may not be a good opportunity to demonstrate honesty.

Three, for those who want honesty, be cognizant of what you are punishing/ rewarding. If the Principle understood the mixed message they we're sending, they probably would have chose differently... for their own long term effectiveness. But of course, someone would have to be honest with them to discover that.

I think this is a topic that still needs much more work and time to be understood by the vast majority. People have gold mines within themselves and each other. Having the courage to be honest with others as well as themselves is truly one of the paths to finding them.

Sort:  

Wow, thanks @mikeonfire for your rich feedback! I'd love to learn what additional "work and time" is needed "to be understood by the vast majority." The need for more honesty isn't OBVIOUS?

Your perspective is so helpful. And the fact you've made time now to share it -- in the midst of your own storm -- means even that much more. A great sacrifice of time and focus. Muchas gracias, mi hermano!

My pleasure. I think it's at the heart of what I was trying to figure out how to explain and demonstrate to people through the book I was writing. And the process of understanding it's immense value. But with the circumstances as they are I'm having to get a bit more creative. Which means I've got a great idea to share in the very near future.

Woohoo, I'm excited to hear about it, @mikeonfire!