You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The programmer hiring process at BlockTrades

in #software3 years ago

Also, I was being waited for SMT project to be done, but it was stopped due to Justin Sun. I think that had blocked the possibility of huge development of Steem and I am so angry with it. There were disagreements between witnesses but I think at least Hive team should have given me chances to choose using Steemit or Hive. After Hive launching, I tried to write several articles in Hive, but it was not easy because I didn't have my Hive power which were originally my valid rights. I feel victimized because I was so against Justin Sun at that time and my proxy was not matter of interest.

Sort:  

There's one basic disagreement we have here: "my Hive power which were originally my valid rights". Hive didn't exist previously, no one was "owed" it. Hive was primarily created for everyone who was actively opposed to Justin Sun's takeover of Steem. And it took effort on the part of many volunteers to create a new cryptocurrency and setup the infrastructure to support it.

During this process, one thing that became very clear is that very few of those volunteers supported airdropping the new currency on voters who actively supported Justin Sun's sockpuppet witnesses. The general sentiment was very straightforward: why reward those people who had actively helped Sun centralize the Steem chain, essentially stealing their home, and forcing all the work associated with creating a replacement chain?

Mayvbe it is not clear what I mean by "sockpuppet" witnesses: I mean these weren't even real people. They were just a bunch of accounts created by Justin Sun's tech guy and voted in by the Steemit tokens. Based on the fact that you said there were "disagreements between witnesses" about Justin Sun, I guess it's possible you didn't understand this. But there wasn't a much of a disagreement between real Steem witnesses, there was a disagreement among the existing witnesses (and the stakeholders who voted for those witnesses) and Justin Sun.

But even if you didn't know this, I'm quite sure that the zzhang proxy did in fact know this. Their representatives were at the meetings between the witnesses and large stakeholders and Justin Sun. And they publicly posted their own stance regarding the disagreement between the other stakeholders and Sun. They were not secretive at all when it came to their opinions, and anyone voting for them should have become aware of it.

Now I think many of the other stakeholders felt that zzhang was essentially holding the chain hostage, by requiring that either Justin Sun or the opposing stakeholders would give in to their own previous demands (some of their posts had been downvoted in the past, for example, so I think they were asking for removal of the downvote function at the time). I think this negotiation tactic annoyed most of the other stakeholders: it's not a nice tactic to extort someone for personal favors when the blockchain's decentralization was facing an existential threat.

Now I don't mean to say that zzhang was the only supporter of Justin Sun. There were a few other stakeholders that felt that Justin Sun would bring marketing benefits that would make it acceptable for control of Steem to be centralized. But most Hive enthusiasts viewed this as compromising moral principles in favor of profit, because decentralization was a core tenet of blockchain technology.

And there were also some people that were convinced that all the existing Steem witnesses were some sort of cabal, and that Justin Sun would be no worse, so they decided to vote for his sockpuppet witnesses. Everyone's free to have their opinion on such matters, of course. But I guess it's not surprising that all the people who worked so hard on a volunteer basis to get Hive going (and this was no small amount of work and was done as a labor of love) were not excited about rewarding people with that attitude either.

I totally agree with Justin Sun's inappropriate works and most members of my team who had written medical blogs with me left steem after Justin Sun's joining. But I wanna ask one more thing, does Hive exists only for the volunteers and witnesses who had made efforts to create Hive, or for every users who wanted to invest and write blogs to Steem and Hive to preserve their system?

From my point of view, you're welcome to post on Hive if you want to.

I can't say for sure about others here, but my guess is that no one would bother you if you posted here now. I hope most have moved beyond the Steem breakup and are focused on the future.

Thank for saying so. Practically, it is not easy to use HIVE for me cuz I have no power here. But at least now I get to know the reason why I had been excluded from HIVE, which makes me more frustrated cuz I didn't even know about what is going on between the witnesses at that time. But like you said, it seems that it's time to focus on the future. Anyway, I appreciate your services for Steem and Hive from the beginning.

so after this whole conversation, is it concluded to give me the hive power and hive tokens that accidentally missed from the airdrop?