Sort:  

My son explained it. The narrow plume was the first stage rocket. Space x has a recoverable 1st stage rocket piece that navigates its way to chosen splash down location, hence the spiral light and shiny inner object. The balloon plume is because the second stage rocket is designed for outside Earth's atmosphere. Whew, so lucky to have my inhouse expert!

Ps he is adding: the smoke rings were from cold gas maneuvering thrusters.

The launch happened right after sunset, but the rocket has to go up many kilometers. So when we were seeing this, the rocket was in sunlight but the ground was in the dark. This meant that the sun was illuminating the giant gas cloud of exhaust coming out of the back of the rocket.

It was incredible seeing it. I had forgot about this launch and was driving west from east San Diego. Turned a corner and saw this incredibly strange glowing line in the sky. It took me a bit to realize what it was, then I got to watch the landing!

Chemtrails.