Being A novice astronomer

in #space4 years ago

​Greeting's HIVE community

101198032_146049050333130_7985051940859936768_n.jpg

IMG_45141.JPG

So around A month or two ago I watched the historic NASA & SpaceX Livestream of the Crew dragon Falcon 9 rocket Launch from Florida and dock onto the ISS (International Space Station) Carrying two American Astronauts.

I have always been interested in space and to be honest during science study's at school space was the topic I focused on the most I just found it very interesting.

Shortly after watching them dock onto the ISS I turned off the TV because it was all done and that was that however my relative told me that she knew another relative who has a very old but hardly used telescope and she would ask for me to borrow it and he never uses it and said yes instantly as it was collecting dust for years and he wanted someone to use it rather than let it sit there untouched.

100996222_146049023666466_8735300109480230912_n.jpg

He helped me set it up and because it's old and not electronic it's all manual movements and this means that really the only thing I can look at is the Moon and Stars however stars are very difficult at least for me to line up onto.

The Telescope itself isn't all that great but it does it's job it's A...

ALL iMAGES ARE MY OWN

Celestron 21036 PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope

amazon link

It's not great but it can do many things sadly being A complete newbie and missing a couple of the zoom lenses I can't do much although looking at the Moon is still pretty cool!

Are you excited about the future of space?

Are you A fan of Elon Musk's vision?

For both it's a huge YES from me but what about you comment below.

Thanks for reading community.

All images in this post are my own.

Sort:  

Hi @chris-uk,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

I have always been interested in space and to be honest during science study's at school space was the topic I focused on the most I just found it very interesting.

I literally cannot understand anyone who doesn't think this way!

From the first time I ever watched an episode of Star Trek...

Space the final frontier...

I was like, YES exactly, that's IT!

When I look to the night sky I wonder... Oh man do I wonder?

You know all the questions as well as I do...

I got rid of a telescope last year that had been sitting in my garden shed for years. The second it had gone I was kicking myself for being far too lazy to learn how to use it properly, it wasn't as straight-forward as I had expected at the time of purchase.

I 100% anticipate buying another, better one soon. I would very much like to post about the images I capture from time to time. An opportunity will present itself to upgrade to a better telescope when the time is right. I am a firm believer that if you have a passion things just fall right periodically, when the time is right.

Carry on with the journey as an amateur astronomer Chris, you will take the step up soon enough my friend.

I wonder if you can see Halifax from East Anglia? 😁 If not, maybe you should look into transport options? Ahahaha 😁 I know I'm bad... Very, very bad LOL