Sort:  

I am not reporting either. I used to help out in steemcleaners and they have enough to do with plagiarists and the like. I did not think of muting them, actually, but somehow I will rather flag than mute. Muting (and this is just my personal feeling, not a rational thought) is like turning your back to the problem, and I think that it is a problem for the platform as a whole.

In some cases, yes, you should not mute. I myself come from a online gaming background, and the ammount of trolls I have encountered helped me learn the beauty of muting people. The "click my link" kinda guy I simply ignore, no need to press any buttons, but for rude or trolling behaviour, I hit the ignore button without a second thought.
Wish I could do that in real life sometimes :D

Yes, I see your point. Never was trolled much myself. I guess I will only flag serial spammers. Flagging is just as unnatural for me as muting :)