How should you react to Death?

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

My uncle just pass away a couple of weeks ago. The whole family was devastated by their loss. Watching my cousins and aunties feeling terribly sad. I know the feeling that they felt as me myself lost my mother during my final semester in college.

I have a late reaction to respond to these kinds of things. I didn't shed a tear during her passing. I'm too busy helping around the house during her funeral and did not have the time to read the prayers for her. I find myself back to college after 2 days busy studying until my friends called me crazy and my lecturers advised me to take take a week off and back to class when I feel ready. It's funny in a way when remembering it today.

It's not that I'm a cold-hearted person or selfish. But to me, I'm happy that people finally reached their time and have a big long rest from the busy world that we're in. No more suffering with the illness or the life that they suffered. I like the concept that death or the dead should be celebrated with joy. Just like the Mexicans celebrate the Day of The Dead - Dia de Muertos. Full of joy and colours.

Winchester-Ofrenda.jpg
Source

It is my final request as well for my friends and family. Please do celebrate and be happy when my time has come. Please don't mourn for me. Just pray that I'm in a better place somewhere, wherever that will be...:)

P.S: There's a new movie called "COCO". A good animation movie to watch!
008def9c94012abb032169ac9d7f7ea061cdbbd0.jpg
Source

Sort:  

um... please don't mind me, I am just testing this out. I am not spamming, really. I'll be on my way now. oh yes... I just upvoted you by the way. Stephard Tester, superoo7/superoo7-dev

I would agree. Death should be celebrated. You've moved on from the suffering that comes with existing as a living being. We come from stardust and turn back into stardust. What makes my mind wander is the fact of just how old the planet is; how many people have lived here and died; then going outward to consider the universe. It's probably infinite in the value of death that exists in the multi-verse just as much as it is chance to have life. People like Edgar Cayce essentially showed that we have a cosmic library we can tap into with the right skills. Don't like this interactive movie? Put yourself in a trance, take a nap, pop in a different holographic movie and enjoy. Guess that is why so many religions are against suicide even if you are terminally ill. "Life is so precious." except for it's really not.

17800326_1115905561846704_6790408574881444873_n.jpg

"Life is so precious." except for it's really not.

I just love this. Don't we put so much pressure on ourselves by talking constantly about how "we only live once," and we have to suck every bit of enjoyment out of every moment of this life, and we must accomplish something spectacular. Sigh. What's if it's not that big of a deal, though. What if life is just like a fun vacation or a roller coaster ride?

Yes, people always say let's go YOLO. I just don't want to make a long list of the things that we must do and the pressure of crossing it out off the list. I just want to take my time living the life.

Yes, we are from stardust in another word we are the universe itself.

We are as old as the universe - @arconite

I also like the concept that death or the dead should be celebrated with joy but we are taught that death is the worst thing as I guess it's human nature to fear the unknown =]

Just couple of months ago I started treating death differently, because I changed my perception of life and now believe the life is not over after the death and that also people would not want us to cry over their death but rather celebrate the best moments and memories and just be better versions of ourselves and make them proud.

Thanks for your article, @izyan!

Cheers

It's painful to watch people in so much resistance over the passing of people. However, I will be in misery, too when the people closest to me pass.

Its not the end of them as long as we remember them...:)

My experience with people after they pass is a much better relationship! They are returned to their true, eternal selves. No more baggage. No more resistance. Just love and appreciation.