If someone...

If someone says hurtful things, cruel things, dumb things, thoughtless things, nasty things, to you.... then don't react immediately.

Instead, pause for a moment and ask yourself:

Can I choose my feelings inside
and actions outside?

If yes then you are on the Right path!

Freedom lies in knowing, that no matter how hurtfully others behave-my feelings are my responsibility and choice.

Therefore, I don't react;

I choose my response
I choose my feelings
I choose my actions
I choose my destiny
I'm not a victim.
I am the co-creator of my destiny and all my life experiences.

I made, long ago, a conscious choice to stop playing the victim in my own life and to instead start being the heroine.

Sort:  

Yes, I totally agree! Don't react quickly with anger, it will just make everything worse! Pause, take a breathe and respond peacefully is my advice :D