The power of gratitude

in #spirituality7 years ago

pexels-photo-424517.jpeg



Being positive or “looking on the bright side” is something we are encouraged to do. “Cheer up”, “it might never happen”, “don't be such a worrywort”.

Trying to think positive is something I have found works well in my own life. Whether you believe in the Law of Attraction or not, learning to be a happier person regardless of outside circumstances is something which I have found greatly helpful. Slowing down and focussing on mindfulness when you start to obsessively worry or think negatively is a practice I really recommend. Being happier just for the sake of being happier is a great thing, and can actually be of comfort when things are hard.

But although “think positive” is great advice, it can be a little vague. How do you make yourself happier? How can you just “think positive”. It is a slow process to recognise your negative thinking patterns and replace them with positive ones.

Enter gratitude.

Can you think of ten things to be grateful for in this moment? Twenty, fifty? I can guarantee if you are reading this you have so much to be grateful for.

If you have basic sanitation, clean water, internet access, a relatively free media, you know where your next meal is coming from, you have a roof over your head, and you are not living in a war zone you are extremely lucky compared to much of the world's population.

Saying this is not to guilt trip you, but encourage you to think about all you have that you are lucky to have. We take so much for granted in our lives, little things and big things.

I try and start every day with a list of ten things I am grateful for, and I end it by thinking about all the good things that happened that day and giving thanks for my favourites. I give thanks for my food and drink, and I take a moment each time I consume something to really taste the food or drink. I always say thank you to anyone serving me and if I see a public service being performed (e.g. the bin men emptying the bins or street sweeping machines out and about) I say “thank you” under my breath.

This is a simple process that becomes automatic after a while, but I have found a few benefits from this practice.

  1. The more I am grateful the more I find things to be grateful for.
  2. I find myself generally more cheerful throughout my day...when you're happier it tends to snowball too.
  3. I have found myself having more patience with the people around me which results in much improved relationships.
  4. I have developed a more “giving” spirit, I recently signed up with a volunteer programme.
  5. Little annoyances don't bother me as much as they used to.

I have found gratitude has become an integral part of my spiritual practice, in addition to yoga and meditation. Give it a try for a week or two, and I hope you find it helpful in your daily life!

bench-1245994_640.jpg