Splinterlands Art Contest! // Week 162 // SLEEPY WOOD NYMPH (Digital Fan Art)

in #splinterlands2 years ago (edited)

SLEEPY WOOD NYMPH

@arrowhead-2.png

At first i had the idea of a wood nymph walking up from within a tree stump/trunk so I started with making the tree stump
IMG_0901.PNG

I then started making my wood nymph basing her on the official wood nymph design <3

IMG_0913.PNG

But once i was done with my sketch of my nymph, I didn't like how she would be coming from a dead tree stump especially since she is supposed to be a healer and guardian of the forest

IMG_0914.PNG

I then tried making her wake up from within a living Tree, but it also didn't feel like it was the right fit for her so it left me thinking of revising it again

IMG_0925.PNG

Then, when I opened splinterlands to do my daily quest, my attention was drawn to the Earth splinter logo since I got an Earth quest, and it gave me the idea to make her be surrounded by leaves, which then lead me to the idea of drawing her on vines :D

IMG_0939.PNG

After sketching, I finished the primary colours
IMG_0940.PNG

then added some bright gradient background to try and symbolise the dawn or morning for her to wake up in

IMG_0941.PNG

but as i was about to finish late at night, i started getting sleepy, and I realised that apart from just waking up, she could also be just getting ready for bed or getting sleepy. So I tried to change the background into night, and this gave way to being able to highlight her radiant healing abilities, added some fireflies/sprites/stars at the background and I was able to go to bed happy with how it turned out :D
Just needed to put my IGN and signature as well as the splinterlands logo, and TADA, my Sleepy Wood Nymph is done :D

@arrowhead-2.png

Had fun making her! I hope you guys like how she turned out! :D
-- arrowhead

Sort:  

Congratulations @arrowhead! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The new HiveFest⁶ attendee badge is waiting for you
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing! - castleberry#6859