Unpopular Opinion: I Sold My Vouchers & Staked My SPS Instead

in #splinterlands2 years ago (edited)

introducing-waka.png

Earlier today the Splinterlands team released the details from the Waka Spiritblade NFT Promo <-- Read it before continuing.

After reading this article I made the decision to sell all of my VOUCHERS.

Don't get me wrong... I am pretty excited about this partnership and this new death summoner with poison, and I do believe this card will be a strong part of the meta, and a great collectible item in the game, and I think anyone who gets a copy will be very happy that they did. But... I think there is a better play here.

Waka_Spiritblade_gold.png

First, lets go over some of the details of this promotion card. There will only be 1,000 maxed out copies for sale (500 on Splinterlands and 500 on Wax) - out of those 1,000 copies 40 of them will be gold foil. So 40 lucky people will be stoked out of their minds if they're lucky enough to pull one of these.

On Thursday, February 24th at 12PM EST these cards will go on sale for 5,000 SPS and 500 Vouchers - wich equates to about (5,000 SPS x $0.15 = $750 + 500 VOUCHERS x $2.576 = $1,288) $750 + $1,288 = $2,038 for this legendary 3 mana cost summoner.

I think this is actually a fair price for a maxed copy (11 BCX) of Waka Spiritblade. He can be compared to other 3 mana cost legendary summoners and he fits right in.

But alas... even though I would love to own this card there are a few reasons holding me back from making this purchase.

With the hype and demand around this card there is no guarantee that I get one - especially with talk of bots being able to scoop them all up in seconds.
Vouchers are up big since this news to 2.3 HIVE or $2.576 - If I'm not able to spend my vouchers on this rare promo card then likely the value of vouchers will go down and could recede back to its recent lows of 1.1 HIVE or $1.23 - unless of course the team immediately announces more utility for VOUCHERS - which they plan on doing, but I'm not convinced that its ready yet.
I would have to either buy more SPS or un-stake 25% of my SPS for 7 days to try and get enough to purchase it. All of this comes at a cost of losing out on staking my SPS.
Also, I think SPS is significantly undervalued right now so spending 5,000 SPS on this card seems like quite a risk to me.

Screen Shot 2022-02-15 at 10.35.09 PM.png

So, here is what I believe is the better play:

I decided to sell my VOUCHERS and I took that HIVE and bought 3 Land Plots for about $1,216.

Why?

Because LAND is going to be the biggest release for Splinterlands in 2022. It's going to be a whole new part of the game that will be the catalyst for new users and added game mechanics and use cases for $SPS.
The metaverse is coming. You will need Land in the Metaverse. Splinterlands will embrace the metaverse and the people with land will be the ones driving the new ever-growing economy.
Lastly, I think Land is likely to rise in price faster than the Waka Spiritblade NFT card that starts at $2,038.
So there you have it... I'm selling Waka Spiritblade and buying as many Land Plots as I can.

What do you think?

Sort:  

Congratulations @dejota! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 14
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!