You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What are you looking to get out of Splinterlands?

in #splinterlands2 years ago

very nice comment
but like most of the Splinterlands users out there you get me the feeling that you are a bit confused and definitely a bit disappointed
i would love to help you get your thoughts a bit more organized

you have to understand that no matter what we think ( exactly like i answered the other friend jfang003 ) everyone of us falls under one of the 3 categories

  • gamers-players ( i'm in the game just to play cause i like battling )
  • traders (i'm in the game cause i wanna make money out of it, i see it as a source of income )
  • collectors ( i'm in the game cause i 'm a mad-collector junkie and i love to collect interesting art to heritage my children )

please don't misunderstand my writing...it doesn't mean that a player cannot be a collector , or a collector cannot be a trader
definitely these 3 categories interact between them but you have to decide where you belong
if you do that, then everything is much more simple and your thoughts and sentiments will get in line

so after reading your very interesting situation i would very kindly ask you to define yourself in one of the above categories
in order to make things more easy to you, answer the question by giving percentages like
i feel 60% player, 30% trader , 10% collector

!PIZZA

Sort:  

My friend, this is quite fun conversation I think! :) I could agree with your percentages, but I don't think I have any collector in me when it comes to crypto assets much less gaming NFTs. If something in crypto is not of value outside the cryptoverse and does not make gameplay more fun then I am not attracted to it at all. I understand that other people are different and that is great.

I think I have a question for you that might clarify my position...I think you would rate yourself as quite a lot interesting in playing rather than collecting. Is it possible Splinterlands could "ruin the game" for you? That a game that was fun and gave you a sense of growing mastery could keep changing so much that the fun goes away? If so, and if you had already invested your so much money and time in it, don't you think the game itself would have changed your approach to it even if you had hoped your motivations would stay consistent?

This is what I think happened to me. I was never passionate about the game, but I did enjoy it, I did enjoy getting better at it, and I did enjoy thinking about what cards would suit my style and trying to get them. Then change after change, getting trapped in bot leagues, few to no rewards and on and on. The devs ruined the game for me. Maybe not for others, but for me. So I am not confused about what I want from the game...I want the old game back like in June 2021. that is not possible so really I am trapped in the game with assets that I could only sell for a loss or assets that are worthless outside the game (some nice gladius cards for example). So either I eat that loss or I try to keep exploring whether there is anything still for me. If I could get a full refund and never think about the game again, I might be very tempted, for example. But that is not because I was confused about what I wanted from the game, it is because the game now is not the game I invested in.

Hope that makes sense!
!PGM

it's very clear to me that you were in the game for the game itself
so i consider you as a gamer
and the problem with the gamer style user is that when he/she gets disappointed from the game there is no way you can keep him in the game

i'm not sharing the same disappointment with you though
i still love the game and according to my opinion the game is much more interesting than the one i was playing back in 2021 and even older back in 2019 and 2018
but of course this is a matter of taste and it differs from user to user...

anyway i believe there is no turning back point for you...when you dont like the game and you are a gamer, then there is no way you can keep playing the game
when i don't like something i simply walk away

i just hope you get your money back....or at least if you wanna walk away right away ,you don't suffer a big loss
on the other hand as a gamer , you know what you doing , and you know that you pay to get on board and play the game
you dont expect to get your money back
Splinterlands though ,gives you this opportunity....if you wanna walk away at some point of time you can do it and get your money back or at least some of your money

did you try to sell your deck??

I am in the category of casual gamer at best. I don't have a lot of skill and don't find it interesting to watch videos or read strategy tutorials. I already have a job haha! So better gamers are probably more enthusiastic about the changes to the game. I think my big initial mistake was seeing an alignment of getting cards to have more fun and seeing the reward payoff of getting cards in terms of the airdrop and getting into leagues where the rewards were better. It was a bad risk for someone with my mentality to invest into any game because like you say, if the game changes (over and over, mostly to benefit whales imo) and I stop liking it then I am left with a bad taste in my mouth. Devs are free to change games and good, dedicated gamers will find it exciting to optimize for new rules and rewards. I am not that guy so it was bad for me. I know many people are leaving the game for similar reasons, but many people are just as excited about it. The June 2021 version of the game still had lots for me to learn, each match (other than the hordes of endless bots) had a quality of the unknown and unexpected, and I could learn at my slow pace without being bored. And over time I could get the occasional new card from the rewards. That was my happy place with the game and you are right, I doubt it will come back.

I thought that tower defense might be a great new phase, but as far as I can tell, we won't be able to use our splinterlands cards, so it is disappointing. The cool thing about NFTs is that you could potentially use the same assets in other platforms, allowing them to leave the game. Seems like that is not what is going on here so it seem more like a co-branded thing that just tries to prop up the weak tokens. Maybe I'm wrong about that, too, but I doubt I would buy more stuff from this group for a new game even though I like the tower defense genre.

I could try to sell my deck, but I am reluctant to lock in the loss at less than 25% its ATH. I don't really need this specific money, it is more that I feel stupid for getting in at the market top and tricked by some of the decisions of the team (allowing so many bots, constantly nerfing rewards, flooding market with higher powered new cards) that either I didn't see coming or was too dumb to understand the implications of. I'm renting most of my cards out now and in 30 or 40 years should make back what I spent lol :)

I'm glad people still like the game, but as far as a casual gamer like me goes, every change they've made since the airdrop has made it less appealing and at least to my mind less likely to attract new gamers, especially from outside of crypto, rather than people who believe they can make money. I'm always wrong though haha

Loading...

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @pregosauce

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444