What are you looking to get out of Splinterlands?

in #splinterlands2 years ago

this is an issue i have many times tried to expose and talk about it in older posts of mine
i just wished i had more followers so that more users ,involved with the game could read, and in a way of speaking make up their minds about Splinterlands
to make up their minds about
-what do they want out of the game, what are their expectations
-what are their true intentions
and at the bottom line why are they getting themselves playing the game

gg.jpg

you know this is a very serious issue and please don't underestimate the value of it..
even if it looks a bit silly to you, if you go through it you will see it's a very significant matter which can affect your whole attitude and feelings upon the game
most of Splinterlands users out there i believe tend to neglect this factor which unfortunately cause inconvenience ,complaints and bad sentiments towards the project
on the other hand if you know what you really want ,everything is much easier and crystal clear
you set your goals and you start working to achieve them

i had a very small debate with a guy in Steemit platform about Splinterlands a couple of days before cause he was complaining about rewards, getting rewards after completing his daily quest i mean

divder.png

of course our debate was fruitful cause nobody of us wanted to play the smart one
we set our arguments , we explained each other what we think about the game's mechanics and the our point of view and we finally come to a conclusion
i will get screenshots of our argument below to see for yourself what we discussed

the point is what i am discussing above
if you have not made up your mind about what you want from Splinterlands project you will never be satisfied from anything that it is offered to you
i really believe that was the case from our fellow user 'sentless' , cause after all it turned out to be a really serious user and one like those ones who come and go
so the problem i believe it was that he didn't know exactly what he wanted out of Splinterlands

my fellow Splinterlanders
SplinterMania is a fact, no matter what we say, no matter what anyone of us say, we are talking about a trend which tends to be a way of life
ok maybe i'm a bit exaggerating here but Splinterlands is evolving to something very serious

but you have to understand that above all
above everything
Splinterlands is a game
and you don't get involved with a game unless you like its gameplay guys
am i wrong?
we play Splinterlands cause we like battling
we play Splinterlands cause we are fans of Yu-Gi-Oh
we play Splinterlands cause we get thrilled through the battling mechanics
it's a game guys, IT IS NOT A FINANCIAL INSTRUMENT
and as a game we must first judge it
the thing that we get rewards comes second
of course someone can say ,but you advertise it as a play to earn game etc etc there is no argument about it ,let me be clear on this
it is a play to earn game but it is an entertainment first

dvder.png

on the other hand it has been evolved to such an incredible community with so many different aspects which give you the opportunity to be much more many things apart from player
you can be a purely trader, you can be a collector
i have spoken about these things in older posts of mine but let me repeat myself
if you wanna make money out of Splinterlands you should not play the game
YOU WON'T make money out of playing your everyday quest and then you will be disappointed
but it is your fault not Splinterlands fault
if your intentions are to make money then you must use Splinterlands in a different way

let me show you below how i made some money out of Splinterlands
i sold my Spineback Turtle Alpha edition for 4670 DEC...and after a little while i bought it for 2370 DEC ...what does this gives us?...this is a net profit of 2300DEC
this is how you can make money out of Splinterlands
by trading
on a different trade i sold again a Spineback Turtle of mine , Alpha edition again for 6300 DEC and i bought back this exact card for 1600 DEC...net profit 4700DEC
you see this is a way of making money out of the game, but this way has nothing to do with playing the game
you don't have to be a player in order to trade cards...
you wanna make money??....go trade cards, what are you waiting for?
you wanna make money?...be a collector...invest in buying cards today, forget about them and sell them in 2-3 years from now (most probably the prices will rise)

rewards is a side factor for me
i'm not playing the game cause i believe i will grow my account through the rewards system
YOU WILL NEVER GROW YOUR ACCOUNT through the rewards
daily rewards are always welcome and i consider them a way by the administration of saying thank you for participating and supporting the project
that's all my dear fellow-Splinterlanders

try to see the reality , try to see facts, embrace the game as it is deserved to be and make up your mind about what you want out of this great great Project
be true to yourself and everything will be much more easier

i will display below my conversation with 'sentless' if anyone is interested in reading it
and don't forget
Get on board by clicking this link it is never too late to start playing


VBN.jpg

100.jpg

101.jpg

102.jpg

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @funnel ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I do it because it's fun and it's also another way to build an income source. In a way, it's interesting to see how things will progress because Splinterlands is constantly having new updates. I have to adapt my deck, line ups and even investment strategies.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

lets take things from the start
first of all thank you very much for the comment cause i really need to interact with the community in order newcomers to understand better what i'm talking about

i do understand exactly what you say but in order to keep things simple you have to understand that there are 3 types of Splinterlanders

  • gamers-players
  • traders
  • collectors

whatever else you might think there is around , it falls under these 3 major categories

so can you answer me which of the 3 categories you think is more suitable for your type of involvement??

I would say player 75% and trader 25%. I don't really think much about collecting because a card is a card.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

hey funnel!
good question! I think for me it seems not quite as simple as you describe. I never played Magic or Pokemon or games like that. If I had my pick I would love a classic RPG like Icewind Dale on the blockchain. When I started to dabble in crypto, Play2Earn was like the 3rd thing I tried to figure out after currencies, and then NFTs. I tried AlienWorlds first and to be honest so many of the P2E games were kind of like that. Click a button, walk away. This prioritized the Earn side in my mind for sure. I thought I might like Splinterlands but it was not a kind of game I had played before, so the learning curve is tough. I tried to get better, got reward cards and stuff like that and liked it enough to try daily quests as they were back then. Then the SPS airdrop came and it felt like everything changed. I started noticing I was mostly playing bots and there was less gameplay involved in a weird way. I would just create spreadsheets of what to play at different mana levels because bots would kick out these optimized random lineups. That took the fun out. But then I noticed that a few nonstandard cards could make a big difference, and I also thought I should try to get into the SPS situation. This was when the "you gotta spend money to keep up" grind started, I think. I grabbed cards with my little budget that I thought would allow me to win under the rules as they were at the time for leagues and rewards. I started to enjoy it and felt I was playing pretty good at my card level - not a great player but I could get fun wins. So I felt I was doing a nice job with both the play and the earn side. I bought cards I thought could help me win because playing and winning earned rewards. Then those rules changed, and the rewards changed and they changed again and again and again. The number and power of new cards increased. So here I was spending money to play a game that I was constantly falling behind in and that demanded more money while making rewards harder and harder to get. Then the bear set in and the whole thing seemed hopeless. So I initially wanted some fun version of P2E, then saw how the E side and the P side could grow together, then had all of that wiped away by endless rule and reward changes, pack drops, and the bear market. Those changes really affected how I was able to see the game at that point. I would like to enjoy the game again, but my deck is hopeless now and I can't justify throwing more money into the black hole. I still brawl, but it would take an unreasonable amount of time or money or a level of skill and dedication that I don't have for me to "play" to "earn" in this game, very unlike how it was when I started if that makes sense. I guess all I want now is that someday my deck is worth 20% of what it cost me LOL
!PGM
!PIZZA

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

very nice comment
but like most of the Splinterlands users out there you get me the feeling that you are a bit confused and definitely a bit disappointed
i would love to help you get your thoughts a bit more organized

you have to understand that no matter what we think ( exactly like i answered the other friend jfang003 ) everyone of us falls under one of the 3 categories

  • gamers-players ( i'm in the game just to play cause i like battling )
  • traders (i'm in the game cause i wanna make money out of it, i see it as a source of income )
  • collectors ( i'm in the game cause i 'm a mad-collector junkie and i love to collect interesting art to heritage my children )

please don't misunderstand my writing...it doesn't mean that a player cannot be a collector , or a collector cannot be a trader
definitely these 3 categories interact between them but you have to decide where you belong
if you do that, then everything is much more simple and your thoughts and sentiments will get in line

so after reading your very interesting situation i would very kindly ask you to define yourself in one of the above categories
in order to make things more easy to you, answer the question by giving percentages like
i feel 60% player, 30% trader , 10% collector

!PIZZA

My friend, this is quite fun conversation I think! :) I could agree with your percentages, but I don't think I have any collector in me when it comes to crypto assets much less gaming NFTs. If something in crypto is not of value outside the cryptoverse and does not make gameplay more fun then I am not attracted to it at all. I understand that other people are different and that is great.

I think I have a question for you that might clarify my position...I think you would rate yourself as quite a lot interesting in playing rather than collecting. Is it possible Splinterlands could "ruin the game" for you? That a game that was fun and gave you a sense of growing mastery could keep changing so much that the fun goes away? If so, and if you had already invested your so much money and time in it, don't you think the game itself would have changed your approach to it even if you had hoped your motivations would stay consistent?

This is what I think happened to me. I was never passionate about the game, but I did enjoy it, I did enjoy getting better at it, and I did enjoy thinking about what cards would suit my style and trying to get them. Then change after change, getting trapped in bot leagues, few to no rewards and on and on. The devs ruined the game for me. Maybe not for others, but for me. So I am not confused about what I want from the game...I want the old game back like in June 2021. that is not possible so really I am trapped in the game with assets that I could only sell for a loss or assets that are worthless outside the game (some nice gladius cards for example). So either I eat that loss or I try to keep exploring whether there is anything still for me. If I could get a full refund and never think about the game again, I might be very tempted, for example. But that is not because I was confused about what I wanted from the game, it is because the game now is not the game I invested in.

Hope that makes sense!
!PGM

it's very clear to me that you were in the game for the game itself
so i consider you as a gamer
and the problem with the gamer style user is that when he/she gets disappointed from the game there is no way you can keep him in the game

i'm not sharing the same disappointment with you though
i still love the game and according to my opinion the game is much more interesting than the one i was playing back in 2021 and even older back in 2019 and 2018
but of course this is a matter of taste and it differs from user to user...

anyway i believe there is no turning back point for you...when you dont like the game and you are a gamer, then there is no way you can keep playing the game
when i don't like something i simply walk away

i just hope you get your money back....or at least if you wanna walk away right away ,you don't suffer a big loss
on the other hand as a gamer , you know what you doing , and you know that you pay to get on board and play the game
you dont expect to get your money back
Splinterlands though ,gives you this opportunity....if you wanna walk away at some point of time you can do it and get your money back or at least some of your money

did you try to sell your deck??

I am in the category of casual gamer at best. I don't have a lot of skill and don't find it interesting to watch videos or read strategy tutorials. I already have a job haha! So better gamers are probably more enthusiastic about the changes to the game. I think my big initial mistake was seeing an alignment of getting cards to have more fun and seeing the reward payoff of getting cards in terms of the airdrop and getting into leagues where the rewards were better. It was a bad risk for someone with my mentality to invest into any game because like you say, if the game changes (over and over, mostly to benefit whales imo) and I stop liking it then I am left with a bad taste in my mouth. Devs are free to change games and good, dedicated gamers will find it exciting to optimize for new rules and rewards. I am not that guy so it was bad for me. I know many people are leaving the game for similar reasons, but many people are just as excited about it. The June 2021 version of the game still had lots for me to learn, each match (other than the hordes of endless bots) had a quality of the unknown and unexpected, and I could learn at my slow pace without being bored. And over time I could get the occasional new card from the rewards. That was my happy place with the game and you are right, I doubt it will come back.

I thought that tower defense might be a great new phase, but as far as I can tell, we won't be able to use our splinterlands cards, so it is disappointing. The cool thing about NFTs is that you could potentially use the same assets in other platforms, allowing them to leave the game. Seems like that is not what is going on here so it seem more like a co-branded thing that just tries to prop up the weak tokens. Maybe I'm wrong about that, too, but I doubt I would buy more stuff from this group for a new game even though I like the tower defense genre.

I could try to sell my deck, but I am reluctant to lock in the loss at less than 25% its ATH. I don't really need this specific money, it is more that I feel stupid for getting in at the market top and tricked by some of the decisions of the team (allowing so many bots, constantly nerfing rewards, flooding market with higher powered new cards) that either I didn't see coming or was too dumb to understand the implications of. I'm renting most of my cards out now and in 30 or 40 years should make back what I spent lol :)

I'm glad people still like the game, but as far as a casual gamer like me goes, every change they've made since the airdrop has made it less appealing and at least to my mind less likely to attract new gamers, especially from outside of crypto, rather than people who believe they can make money. I'm always wrong though haha

Loading...

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @pregosauce

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@funnel(1/5) tipped @pregosauce (x2)
pregosauce tipped funnel (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Thanks for sharing! - @yonilkar

There is a great variety of games and forms of capital investment, Splinterlands goes beyond that, because it has a great community that every day gives it more and more prominence in what refers to video games on the web 3.

The community is a fundamental pillar in Splinterlands.