Why Splinterlands ?

in #splinterlands3 years ago

Why Splinterlands ?


Not yet signed up for splinterlands? Don't hesitate to sign up!

A little introduction to myself. I am a 33 year old, staying in a little humble red dot called Singapore located in South East Asia. I'm married for 4 years, and currently having a 10 month old baby girl - my everything.

Where is Singapore...?
image.png

I'm one of the lucky one that was assigned to work from home since covid happened, and I had been thinking to myself, how do I leave a better life for my young girl in the future. I need to find something that will really impact our financial life, for stability and a worry-free life. Had a few meetup with friends over drinks and found out that the craze now are actually NFT blockchain games, involving crypto and the supposing stable and most famous one is Axie Infinity.

image.png

Went home, did a few research on the different type of NFT games, and I ended up choosing - Splinterlands.

image.png

Actually I am also not too sure about this. Initially I rejected Axie Infinity is because of the high amount of capital needed to get started - around $1.5k at the time of writing. That amount is pretty significant and I am thinking that would be a huge risk if the interest of the world died off and my capital will go into drain.

image.png

So coming back to the 'why' - I started Splinterlands because I was a fan of Magic the Gathering in my childhood. I remember buying packs from the shops and opening the packs was the most amazing thing, the adrenaline rush when you opened a shiny card, when you pick up a legendary card, or whatever that looked cool in the 90s 😎.

Guess my interest won me over > rather than playing a .. Pokemon inspired game 🥱?

Once again, it's a part 2 battle of this in my mind :
image.png

But till date, I have not regretted one bit. Splinterland had a small charge to actually 'start' the game - a mere $10 to buy a summoner book and you can start rolling. As simple as that. You don't really need to purchase cards (since officially all the card packs are sold out, you can only get from third party market at a very high price right now), you can just rent them with DEC (the currency that you made when winning battles), or you can simply just use the starter cards that is provided when you purchased the summoner book.

And remember when I didn't start Axie due to the capital required of around $1.5k to start the game ---- Guess what, till date I have so much trust in the future of Splinterlands, I had already invested nearly $4k in the game pre Chaos Legion packs are released.

I strongly believe that Splinterlands is still at the beginning of an era, a game that are worth much more and with a very long way to go. Will SPS ever overtake SLP or whatever ? I'm not sure, but I am pretty sure this game has a bright future ahead, with the creative developer, team and community.

image.png

So will you invest in a game you trust, you like, and enjoy ? That's a yes from me - definitely.

Sort:  

Shared in Twitter

Thanks for sharing! - @rehan12

So glad to know that you are enjoying splinterlands and believe in the team. Lets move forward and keep on building the trust as we go further! Splinterlands to the MOON and beyond!!

Congratulations @nachocheese! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 7
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day