You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Reward Cards & Collection Power Update

in #splinterlands4 years ago

I just don't get the reasoning behind the collection power changes. Like, no matter how hard I try to get it, I just can't. You have to buy a 10$ starter pack already and now this? I understand the problem is that not enough people play the game and thus it's to easy to reach higher leagues, but this will make the game even more noob-unfriendly than it already is. Why not instead introduce a proper ELO system or dynamic rankings or something like that, instead of again looking for big(ger) investors.

Sort:  

It isn't that too few players play the game. It's that too many bots play the game and allow people to attain ridiculously high levels by beating them (while the bots get their levels the same way). Last season, I couldn't play for a few days after my normal reset to Diamond I). The opponents that I encountered just DID NOT belong there (i.e. level one monsters across the board). A "proper ELO system" won't fix that.

I wish that it would work for the developers cap the rewards according to collection score and NOT cap what league you can play -- but then poor players who pay a lot will get a lot of rewards because of the league boost that they get from the bots.

Byzantinist will tell you that I am one of the biggest advocates for newbies -- but, unfortunately, they need a second fix for newbies because collection score is really necessary to fix the current HUGE problem.

I'll keep playing the same but, reading some comments as they are discussing the scoring system for the bots (I don't know much about these bots) wouldn't it be better to add a small captcha system for each fight?

this change will do a lot to make competition fair... in other words FUN... right now you have level 1 accounts playing max level accounts and there is no skill involved in those matches... In the future the matches will pit even size decks against one another and there will be true competition. The bots that everyone is talking about are the level 1 bots with no cards (just the phantom cards that come with the acct)... and those will get taken care of unless they invest in their decks and buy the cards needed to play at the higher levels. Every normal person will benefit as a result (once the rewards are reworked in PHASE 3).