Wood Nymph: A Very Powerful Earth Healer in a Low Mana Fight

image.png

My experience with earth splinters has undergone change through the months of playing Splinterlands. At first, I don’t like Earth Quest for I find earth splinters too weak and the quest very difficult to complete. During that time, I was still not aware about the existence of Mylor Crowling, a powerful earth summoner. In fact, when I first saw this summoner, my initial impression is that the other player is not playing fair. My mind changed when I read an article of someone who utilized Mylor Crowling claiming that using this card as his strategy to reach the Silver league. Also, at that time, I was not aware about the importance of the rental market and so even reaching Bronze I was a struggle to me.

image.png

And so, I tried Mylor Crowling. Using this summoner, I realized that winning the battle is not as difficult as I first perceived. It was also during that time that I appreciated the importance of Wood Nymph.

image.png

Wood Nymph’s ability is tank heal. This means that each round, she restores a portion of the health of a friendly monster fighting in the first position. If you are curious about its lore, you can read it here.

However, with the release of Chaos Legion cards, another healer from earth splinters was introduced. This time, it’s Goblin Psychic.

image.png

With this new card, I thought I could finally liberate myself from renting Wood Nymph. I was wrong. I realized that I still need Wood Nymph especially in a low mana fight. Moreover, having two healers in a team is better giving the opponent more headache to win the fight.

The following are three battles where I utilized Wood Nymph in a low mana fight.

First Battle

image.png

The first one is a 19 Mana Cap fight against water splinters. As you can see, the cards of the other player were all leveled up except one, Creeping Ooze. Nevertheless, though his cards are more powerful than mine, but meeting Mylor Crowling, the summoner that destroys melee attackers with its capacity to grant all friendly monsters thorns ability, the battle ended with a huge loss on the part of water splinters. In this game, Wood Nymph played a minor role. She just added one health to Unicorn Mustang only once. It was Halfling Alchemist that played a big role to win the fight with its ability to cut the target’s attack in half. See the result of that fight here.

Second Battle

image.png

As for the second battle, this time it’s 20 mana cap. Though Wood Nymph died early, her major contribution is to reduce the strength of Deep Lurker before confronting Unicorn Mustang. Here is the outcome of that fight.

Last Battle

image.png

The last battle has 15 mana cap against life splinters. The other player is using General Sloan, giving an additional range attack to all friendly monsters. If you have been playing Splinterlands for quite some time, you know by now that Mylor Crowling and his team are vulnerable when it comes to facing monsters with range attacks. Since this is a low mana fight, the other player utilized Halfling Alchemist and Peacebringer with five combined range attacks in one round plus the ability of the former to cut the target’s attack in half. It is in this fight that we see Wood Nymph very useful. Without her, there is no way the earth team will win this fight. With her healing ability, she restores Unicorn Mustang’s health three times, which ultimately determines the outcome of the battle. See how this fight progresses and ends here.

As you can see, even though Wood Nymph did not play a major role in winning the first two battles, still, I would prefer using this card than the other healer, Goblin Psychic, in a low mana fight to give more room for additional card. Even Goblin Psychic can be played for free, I never enter the battle field using earth splinters without renting Wood Nymph.

Still not playing Splinterlands? Try it! It's fun!

Here’s my code.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rzc24-nftbbg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10