You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good Bye, Splinterlands

I am a gamer, not an investor, so I judge games by whether they are fun or not, not whether they make money or not.
I don't know how it is from an investor's point of view, but my opinion as a user for entertainment purposes is that the more people use xbot, the worse the situation will get.
It seems contradictory to use xbot and hope that the situation will get better. xbot users have no love for Splinterlands.

Sort:  

you are accusing xbot because it is public. What about private bots? Bubke has his private bots and the whole IG guild using his services. LD has their own private bots. I equally agree with you and was equally frustrated and equally hated xbot. But when the game is being dominated by AI then either you quit the game or you just compromise. Trust me they are never going to ban or do something against Bots.

My opinion on private bots is that they are either highly funded or highly technical. The game prize money is not worth that investment, even if it has nothing to do with game skills. I don't understand the spirit of obsession with winning at this game, but I have to admit that passion doesn't annoy me. And since there are so few users, it's not impossible to countermeasure.
Is there any evidence that private bots are shared across IG? I have read @jaki01 's posts and believe he is not using such.
If there is proof, I believe it is evil.
I must say that xbot is destroying the game by deploying high performance AI as a cheap or free service.
There is nothing more disgusting to watch than boring players with no game skills, passion, money, programming skills or anything else dominating the top rankings.

Is there any evidence that private bots are shared across IG? I have read @jaki01 's posts and believe he is not using such.

I was just asked in Discord, and here is my reply:

It depends on when this tournament took place. I tried very long to compete manually and for a rather long time I managed to win the gold foil tournaments, but finally, when it was too obvious that mediocre players started to beat me by bot help - and after this post (https://peakd.com/splinterlands/@jaki01/splinterlands-the-bot-problem-in-higher-leagues) also didn't have any effect I decided to use a bot, too.
I still play all alpha card tournaments manually even if also there it is obvious that recently many oppponents started to use bots/battle helpers, too (but no bot is ever allowed to touch my holy alpha cards )
I think it is very unfortunate that I am also using a bot nowadays (I hated that decision), but my metapher is that if suddenly in running competitions it is allowed to use motorbikes, then one either is forced to use one, too, or to stop to compete at all, even if one hates the change of rules to allow machines in human competitions.

If ever there is a safe space for human players again I would love to play manually again.

And here another:

You might read it, when you have time.
It's not about blaming, but it was a try to make people/players aware.
These days still many players belittled me when I predicted that very soon bots would be stronger than players ("Yes, chess, but chess is not Splinterlands, Splinterlands is much more complex" they insisted "Just increase your skills!").

Sorry, I couldn't tell from the translation, is the bot you use a private bot dedicated to IG?
This includes personal interest. I would be happy to learn as much as you can without any difference.
To be honest, I can tell from playing against ula.ocean in the Gold League and dragon.rider in the Silver League that they are bots.
Of course I can lose, but I don't consider those playing too strong.ST's im-perfectone and ueyuey seem to use more advanced strategies.
However, xbot feels stronger than existing bots. And even if you take countermeasures, they return countermeasures because of BH. They don't even allow weasel words.
So I figured that's why I hate xbot and don't feel much hatred about the existing bots.
Champion league is more complicated, so it's more difficult. I was still new to the Champion League, still developing, and just when I finally got to the top of the tournament, the influx of xbots made it hard to even get through the first round.
This is a complicated feeling, part jealousy, part awareness of the problem.