Anonymity vs Real Identity

in #splintertalk3 years ago

Okay, full disclosure. This isn't really about Splinterlands, but it is related.

I've been kicked and blocked out of some Splinterlands Facebook groups and muted at one (left that group already) for not having my photo and real name in my account. I mean, I kinda get it? What with all the scammers rampant in our country.

207352181_339193387659217_5706713023218963454_n.png

Wait, let's backtrack a bit. I'm not an avid fan of Facebook. I'm really against it and it's funny how it has somehow become a need in our society today. Other than babies, how many can you name who don't have one? Heck, some babies have their own already.

I created a Facebook account because I wanted to try streaming but I wanted to remain anonymous. I didn't plan on making it a career, it was just a hobby. I started streaming Slam Dunk Mobile. I hosted tournaments, had a couple of giveaways, but finally got enough of the game becoming pay to win (just my opinion) and the influx of toxic players (including streamers!).

So, my Facebook account proved to be useful. I kinda grew my page, even became a moderator for one of the Slam Dunk Mobile Groups. But, like I said, eventually hibernated from the game. I dunno if I'll ever go back but I still play once in a while.

Here comes Splinterlands. I really enjoyed the game. Joined a couple of groups, made some transactions with other players. Of course, I posted these to tell everyone that I'm legit (like I said, tons of scammers where I'm from) and that the guy I transacted with is, too. What do I get? The boot. Lol.

C'mon guys. Most of the scammers I saw have legitimate accounts. Even showed their valid IDs, had video calls, gave real names and addresses. Yet here I am, remaining anonymous, and completing legitimate transactions. WTH?

Just ranting. Sorry. Hahaha. Monday blues, I guess. Anyway guys, have a nice week ahead! New season approaching, new rewards a-dropping. Good luck!