How I ran 108 km over mountains in Istria

in #sport6 years ago (edited)

This was my 4th time at 100 miles of Istria race. I already finished distances 170 km and 68km in previous years. This time i decided to run 108 km with 4500 m altitude gain.

istra2.jpg

Start was at midnight. Everybody was nervous and little cold, so when the start was announced we ran strongly, but not for too long. We immideatly started a big climb - 1500 m to the top of mountain Učka.

istra5.jpg

In about two hours I reached the top with the thought to slow down because I know that the biggest and most common mistake in races like this is to start to fast.
The night was beutiful and I enjoyed silence and solitude of night running in the mountains.

istra1.jpg

We had frequent refreshment points, about every 15 km. Another important thing is fueling - with fluid and food. I took the advantage of every refreshment station. I would eat soup, pancetta with bread and some dried fruits on each. Between refreshment stations I would drink Cola and eat energy gels to have constant carb and calory intake.

istra4.jpg

In the dawn I reached half the race and transition point in Buzet where the bag with the things I left to organiser was waiting for me. I remember birds in the early morning, singing loud and beautiful as I was approaching Buzet down a long descent from mountain Žbevnica.

istra8.jpg

I knew the day is going to be very hot, so I changed to lighter clothes. I already felt tiredness and heat has taken it's toll so at around 70 km I was feeling little low. But this second part of the course is more flat so I took my pace and decided to try finish under 16 hours. And I did it! 15 hours 45 minutes.

istra6.jpg

I remeber race director huging and congratulating me since we know each other for a while. It is hard to describe the moment of finishing hard and long races like this. I tried explained it once - imagine you are in the slingshot, strained strongly. As long as the race goes it gets strained more and more. Closing to the finish it is close to the limit of breaking. And then, you pass the finish line. The slingshot fires you up, high in the emotions of relief, acomplishment, pride and happines. You know no matter how hard it was , it was worth it. That's why I do it :)

Sort:  

Congrats - Quite a physical and mental accomplishment!

Cool to connect :)

yeah, you are right. it is both important . physical and mental. In difficult moments (and there are many during the race) mental can be most important. It also thought me important things in life - to be patient, persistent, dig deep if necessary and you will reach the goal :)