Kirk Cousins Rant from a Diehard Skins fan

in #sports6 years ago

4DDD7634-3BBD-4204-B211-46C855EB7398.jpeg

I just don’t get it. I have been a Cousins fan since the beginning. I honestly was ok with drafting him in the fourth round after trading away the franchise to move up to draft RG3. I was all about RG3 back then calling him “R Jesus” on ththe regular, but I knew the possibility of injury issues considering his frame, playing style, and his past injury history. But now, after reports today, I’m disappointed.

I knew Cousins was upset a couple years back when he wasn’t given the opportunity to start, then did, then was benched, then was the starter after RG3 was signed to a fifth year option. But let’s be honest, since he was named the starter, the dude had become a fan favorite and put up great numbers to enforce why that is. I was pissed last year when we didn’t sign him to a long term deal and was more frustrated when reports came out that the Skins offered him a high money deal. I chocked it up to the Skins screwing up like normal and lying or trying to scheme a way to keep him for less.

Then we get to signing Alex Smith, at this point I knew we weren’t going to keep Cousins anyways so I was just happy we weren’t going into th season with Colt McCoy as the starter. I wished Kirk good luck because hey, he wanted to go somewhere to win and knew it wasn’t going to happen here.....that was until I see the team he is leaning towards the most is the JETS! The freaking Jets? Are you kidding me Kirk? Go to the Broncos, Go to the Vikings, but if you go to the Jets, you are contradicting everything you have said for the last 3 seasons in Washington.

If it’s true, you are not seeking what you claim, you are seeking to bankrupt a bad team with no playoff hopes in the near future to get paid. I believe Kirk should get paid don’t get me wrong, but don’t stand on the podium every week in Washington saying it’s not about money just to skip town and get paid by a bad team, you could have done that in Washington.

Sort:  

Fair enough, I agree with your sentiments. Win-now opportunities in Denver and Minnesota. The New York Jets? They need a lot of help on offense and I don't see them being a playoff-caliber team either way. However, the draw of being the "man" in New York could be part of it. The Jets haven't had a franchise Quarterback that would bring this kind of attention since "Broadway Joe". Good post

I think it just gets on my nerves that it seemed like he “played the game” ya know. It’s almost hard to explain but I think he said the right things in public and to the fans about wanting to be there, but behind closed doors he never planned on staying because of a grudge against being a backup for 3 years. Granted I think Dan Snyder is a scummy Sleezy turd, but I still gotta back my team.

Fair enough and I think you're correct in your assessment. It wouldn't surprise me at all if he was holding a grudge against them like you said.