Pushing on and breaking through.

in #sports6 years ago

Tenacity is a word associated with the SportsPodium brand and one of our values – not just a word to dazzle in marketing documents, but a character trait we see as essential in ourselves and our community.


Image Credit

There are hard days. Let’s not sugar coat this, days when you want to throw your diaper into the ring, switch the lights off and run away screaming. BUT…….We all know the clichés of it being darkest just before sunrise – and it is a cliché for the very reason that is the truth.

The special extra magic champions have lies in this ability to plough on and just put one foot in front of the other even when you are in a zombie like state of daze. That is your star quality. Therein lies the podium moment, the ribbon, the medal…..the anthem ringing in your ears. And this does not only go for sport, but also for life. Today was one of those days for me. I went through a horrific break up last year, and each time I think I am okay, I am flooded with old memories and yes, hope. This morning I woke up thinking my ex was still next to me. And nothing makes you feel more discarded than an empty place in the bed where someone once was.


Image Credit

Hot on the heels of this self-inflicted worthlessness was a look in the mirror. I looked like hell. I am getting older. My skin is sagging and the stubble on my chin has flecks of grey. Life after 40 feels like being punished for an offense which I didn’t commit. My knees hurt. I need to lose weight and my best years are behind me. Or so it felt at that point.

But then I made the decision to say ‘to hell with this’. I got into my shower, stood under the jets of hot water till all the doubt went down the drain, I brushed my teeth, fixed my hair and decided this is MY flipping day. I dressed up in a suit for a change, took myself out for a champagne breakfast with eggs benedict and read the papers as though I was some business mogul. (I am NOT encouraging day drinking, but sometimes a glass of champagne on a really dull morning lets the sunshine in).

And I made a list. Of the good things I can still do. For and with SportsPodium. For myself, for an elderly family member who is in my care. For the generations of athletes who faced corrupt federations, who were bamboozled out of money and rewards by unscrupulous agents and managers.

And before I knew it, the tiger inside me roared again. And I saw the birds outside the restaurant. And the vibrant colours in the garden. And I had my podium moment when I realized that you just put one foot in front of the other and break through the barrier. Because inside all of us is a winner. One who doesn’t give in to quitting.

So yes, I may never beat Adam Rippon in figure skating, or Phelps in a 50m pool – but I have other strengths. And I am doing my part for the sports world with SportsPodium. Because I can. And because I want to because it is worth it.

Break through your own barriers today. If I can do it, so can you.

The SportsPodium Team

Our Website https://sportspodium.io/
Telegram https://t.me/SportsPodiumPublic
GitHub https://github.com/SportsPodium/Documentation
Twitter https://twitter.com/@mysportspodium
Our Blog https://steemit.com/@sportspodium

Sort:  

Morning hopes alls well, just wondering where we are at with issuing coins bought using my steem account!?

Your story is really inspiring! I've always wanted to do so many things but I've been putting them away! Not anymore! Now is my time. Thank you for this post!

Put one foot in front of the other and do it. If i can, you can. Trust me on this.

Thank you for inspiring me with your life's example. Yes, there is no special time what we ought to be. I am not fourty yet and want to achieve many things.

Getting away from your comfort zone helps to improve your inner self. Failure is just a way to improve. This is a nice post

Thank you very much.

What a great post. I felt just like you when I woke up this morning but you have inspired me to pull up my socks and carry on. Thank you

Congratulations @sportspodium! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @sportspodium! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @sportspodium! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!