Amazing move by the New Orleans Pelicans rookie star

in #sportstalk4 years ago

z3n6nu.jpgsource
zxtd0x.jpgsource
The New Orleans Pelicans rookie star Zion Williamson will cover all of the salaries for the Smoothie King arena staff during the NBA suspension due to the COVID-19 for the next 30 days. Zion Williamson tweeted "The people of New Orleans have been incredibly welcoming and supportive since I was Drafted by the Pels last June, and some of the most special people I have met are those who work at smootie King Center. These are the folks who make our games possible, creating the perfect environment for our fans and everyone involved in the organization. Unfortunately, many of them are still recovering from long term challenges created by Katrina, and now face the economic impact of the postponement of games because of the virus. My mother has always set an example for me about being respectful for others and being grateful for what we have, and so today I am pledging to cover the salaries for all of those Smootie King Center workers for the next 30 days. This is a small way for me to express my support and appreciation for these wonderful people who have been so great to me and my teammates and hopefully we can all join together to relieve some of the stress and hardship cause by this national health crisis. This is an incredibly resilient city full of some of the most resilient people, but sometimes providing a little extra assistance can make things a little easier for the community." I don't think it matters who's job it is to take care of the salaries. I think the fact of the matter is that a young man with great morals and values has stepped up to the plate to help those he believes are being strongly impacted by something out of their control. He's a graeful young man who clearly appreciates the effort of others around him. Let's not point fingers on who should have done what, but put the effort in praising a uoung man for a good deed that i'm sure is greatly appreciated. It's really awesome that Zion Williamson cares.

tokfxs.jpgsource
1yym7s.jpgsource