Aaaand the Winners Are.... Spread the Love Contest

in #spreadthelovecontest5 years ago (edited)


winners.gif

First of all, I want to apologise for taking so long to choose the winners of my contest.
I had planned to get it done last week and then 'stuff' happened. Well, in other words: Christmas coming up, lots of work to do for DaVinci and I had a child in the hospital for a week (nothing serious, no worries). So other priorities.
Aside from that, it was IMMENSELY difficult to make any choices.
But I did it, or we did it, because I asked @anouk.nox to help me with this. @raj808, no need to bite your nails anymore! I hope you have some left... THANKS @anouk.nox!

How the choices were made

First I looked at the contestants' posts. Did they do what I asked? I'm happy to say they all did. Some posts were more elaborate than others, but that doesn't matter. They all followed the rules.

Then I looked at the entries' posts. Were they put together well, did we really get to know a little bit about these people?
I discovered that we did. All posts were very well made and all of them gave us a good look at who we had in front of us.

This made it harder for me, because there were no eliminations there.

So I had to make a choice to make sure the right people were left. I remembered what this contest was all about in the first place: to get new Steemians in the spotlight for a bit and of course, to get them to engage with whomever entered them and a few more people who were drawn to their post due to the contest.
Unfortunately, I found that out of all 11 entries, (12 in total, because one person introduced 2 people) there were a couple who had neither posted anything after their introduction post, nor engaged with others. A thank you to the people who went out of their way to search for the perfect introduction post would also be nice. Not all people did this, and call me old-fashioned: but it's just common courtesy if you ask me.
This left me with 6 entries. Partly a shame, because it would have been nice to see all these people thrive.
But I had to be as honest as possible and with that, I asked myself the following question: Which of these people will most likely still be here one year from now? And who will be creating content or at least engage in other people's work?
To be honest, I don't think 6 out of 12 is too bad. I think it's pretty good actually.

So, I put the six people that were left in front of @anouk.nox and let her choose three...
I already had my three favourites in mind, or actually four, and funny enough, her three top choices were the same as mine! With one slight difference...the order.

OK, here we go. I will no longer keep the suspense going.
I did however change things a bit, because I just didn't want to leave any of my favourites out. I therefore chose to have two shared third places...With the same winnings.
ALL entries were awesome, and I want to thank everyone for participating!

Shared third place goes to:

@xcountytravelers with @darrenfj and @raj808 with @t-lab

They each won 5 Steem.
Why? I REALLY REALLY REALLY liked both entries. I shared both entrants' enthusiasm about these people. Both posts were amazing.
As for @t-lab, I've seen some engagement and another post, but now radio silence. I really hope @t-lab can be convinced to stay here and stay active, because we need people like you here! I loved your raw honesty and I think you'd find great friends here on the platform.

@darrenfj: You've been engaging, making posts and you've also introduced a friend. That's awesome!
I really liked your spirit and also your honesty about yourself. I liked the introduction post you made: what you see is what you get and I think you fit in here quite well. (I guess now you won something huh? 😉)

The second place goes to:

@fitinfun and @changeable

I loved @fitinfun's post. She did a great job at explaining why she loved this new Steemian and I can totally see why.

@changeable: You've engaged, you've posted and even entered some contests with your art. I think you're amazingly talented and I really hope that we'll see a lot more of you here.

The FIRST place goes to:

@imsteinsbrother and @arknight

@imsteinsbrother was quite direct about why he loved this Steemian's introduction.
He told me that he thought they could be great friends and from their interactions I've seen that this is quite true.
Great pick!

@arknight
Ever since you joined the platform, you've been posting on a regular basis, you're commenting and engaging. I LOVED your introduction post and I really hope to see you grow on the platform.

To all the winners: Congratulations!

Check your accounts, the winnings are there.

Proof that I transferred the Steem to each winner:

winners.jpg

Thank you for reading!

imageedit_19_8293094582.gif

steemitrevolutionmisslasvegas.gif

steemitrevolution.gif

'


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

Wow! What a wonderful notification to wake up to! I knew I was picking a winner and two of the others are people I would have picked as well - IF @changeable was not so impressive. The last one was already picked before I got here lol.

Thank you very much for this wonderful contest. I love anything that helps new people succeed :)

Hi @fitinfun! I'm glad you had a good time and congrats on the win! Yeah, @changeable is pretty impressive, but I think all of the winners are people who deserve it. It was soooo hard!!! Did I read elsewhere that you are in Malaysia at the moment? Interesting... :) much love to you! And I wish you a Merry Christmas.

Yes I am living in Kuala Lumpur now after a couple of years in Thailand. I left out of California and only wish I would have left sooner.

I was so happy to see all these new people supported. I'm in a few places for this type of thing and we have a lot of good talent!

Many thanks again :)

Ah cool. I didn't realize that you were already in Asia. I lived in Asia for three years and would be back in a heart-beat... We've heard rumours of Steemfest4 being in Asia next year...if that's the case, I'll better just pack up, because we'll never come back!

And yes, you're right: there's amazing talent here.

lol - I thought I would not stay so long and now I never want to leave. So much for going off to see the world. I will just see this part maybe. South America calls, but not for a few years at least.

Yeah, the first time I understood what it meant to be homesick was after going 'home' to Holland from Asia... I was literally sick and depressed for a year. And then I left again. I've never gotten used to my own country, it always felt like I was the outsider.

Aw! I know just what you mean. I am from Canada and left when I was 19. I've been back for maybe 10 days since then and hope I never see the place again. They hate me there, but I love the passport :)



Merry Christmas, enjoy the vote!

I love the card 😆 Thank you!

Wow, thank you. I wasn't able to see this sooner because I temporarily lost my password and I couldn't log in. :(
Thank you so much for choosing my post! : )
|/,,

I was just reading your profile and just curious: who's your dad? :) I'm glad you found your password! You're very welcome, you both deserved the win. And I truly hope you will become and remain friends. I will be following you both :) Steem on!

Well, that makes me happy! I k ew you would like @darrenfj as much as i did. His snark and personality just really hit home for me. Thank you so much. This was a really fun challege.
Ren

Hi @xcountytravelers! Congrats! And glad you liked the challenge. Merry Christmas to you!!

I will do my best to grow here. I begin to love this place. Thank you for making this contest, I feel it as a motivation to publish more, even though my last post did not have the comments I expected.
and thanks @imsteinsbrother

I am sure you will! You're showing the will and the hard work already. And you have talent. I'm pretty sure you could do pretty much anything you'd set your mind to. By the way, are you on discord? I wanted to ask you something related to your experience with games... :) Thanks! (my name on discord: @misslasvegas#6566

my discord is Arknight#7270, i add you anyway.

Steem just reminds me of the internet when i was a young lad just discovering interwebular interactions with people all over this ole dustball..

It feels like the right fit.. sad that i won't be able to just post my lunch updates like the good ole eljay days...

This is another great post to give me names of people to add.. Now i can go back to napping 😝

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.539 which ranks you at #1882 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1879).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #42.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Oh wow. Thank you @misslasvegas for the steem. If you ever stop by Liverpool I shall buy you a drink as a thanks 🍸 I can't believe we won 3rd place @t-lab 🙂

P.s. if you are struggling with motivation on steem @t-lab or the lower payout/engagement on your second post is getting you a bit blue, if you want, I can guide you through a few of the complexities of how to gain more traction. I wrote a post about it ages ago:

https://steemit.com/community/@raj808/steemit-do-s-and-don-ts-my-journey-to-1000-followers

To be honest, the biggest thing to get involved with for new steemians is discord chat/networking groups, which I mention at the bottom of that post. Let me know if you want invites to any and if you have any interests that you're going to blog about as this is important in choosing which discord communities to join. For example, there is one called 'natural medicine' which focuses on people who make/use natural medicines and blog about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Will hold you to that! How about next week? LOL.
Merry Christmas!

Ha ha, next week is fine 🍻

In all seriousness though if ur around just hit me up on discord 😀

Merry Christmas 🎄🎁🎄

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I'm trying to go to a (near) future London Steem Meetup...but not sure if a Liverpool detour is on the books... sigh... But yeah, we might be passing through when we leave here///

Hi, @misslasvegas!

You just got a 0.6% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Big thanks for everybody!!! Peace.

Posted using Partiko iOS