You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPS Governance Proposal - Reduce SPS:WETH Incentives by 50%

in #spsproposal3 months ago (edited)

Thank you for your thoughts on this @cryptoeater ... I have not had time to go through the discord chat, but I would personally like to find middle ground that does several things:

  1. reduce SPS emissions. I believe we pay out more than we need to in total, thus we have become inefficient overall.

  2. work with people that are reasonable and understand goal #1 to find a good solution for which pools to cut and which to keep. I know we have a lot of smart players, and the goal would be to strike a fair balance.

I voted for this preproposal because I'm happy to see movement on making changes and reducing SPS emissions, but I'm also happy to work with you and others to find solutions as well. Whether we keep ETH:SPS or DEC:USDC or any other LP for that matter, I would like to see sincere compromise and focus on delivering to an objective in terms of emission reduction rate.

I believe @clayboyn has set out a target of 50% overall reduction from LPs in total. Whether we can get there or not will depend on us (all of us) working towards a common goal. I know I want a solution where people are happy with what we achieve as well. I don't think rushing or jamming through something that doesn't have broad support is a good way to solve this problem.

So while I voted for the pre-proposal, I am completely open to working with you and others to find a solution that we can live with, and more importantly improving the economics of the whole ecosystem.

Sort:  

If there is any edits proposed, it must happen now.

I mean now now.

Today. @clayboyn

This is not my proposal, so unless the author requests an edit it won't happen. I've made my personal stance clear. I think this is a nuclear option that unless further clarified or defined (DAO committing liquidity to ETH pool or compromising on a reduction instead of flat out end all inflation to ETH pools) then we're going to hurt ourselves with this. I voted no.

Otherwise it's a simple no vote.

Let me rephrase: it is a NO vote

Fine with me.

FYI it has been updated to something more reasonable now. If this changes your mind. I changed my vote as I said I would.

I believe @clayboyn has set out a target of 50% overall reduction from LPs in total.

I'm 100% onboard with this goal. But I have made my thoughts clear that I do not like eliminating rewards altogether. I would vote for a 50% reduction in a heartbeat. I don't think this binary choice of all or nothing is a good solution. I will abstain.

It would never pass... every option I pitched that had multiple pools involved had people on one side refusing to support because of preferences. We're going to have to go pool by pool unfortunately.

Some investors would try to make this an opportunity to get better rewards for the pools they are invested in. Thank you for putting in your time to make things better here 🙂

Good Morning Love GIF by joeyahlbum

Why would a pool that encourages external ETH-based funds be an appropriate initial target instead of the internal pools that slosh inflation around, with other inflation, for more inflation? It's makes my stomach turn. I've written more detailed thoughts throughout the comment section if you may have not seen them yet, including a direct message to the creator of the pre-proposal, so please feel free to skim over those to see what it feels like to be on the other side.