DAIRY OF A SHY GIRL #3(Don't kill yourself in the pursuit of what's in vogue)

in #stach6 years ago

IMG-20180112-WA0021.jpg
Shygirl in!!
Hello beautiful and handsome people.

There is a lot of competition in the world today. The hunger to do what's trending is on a high rise, everybody wants to keep up, no one wants to be left behind.
This particular reason(trend) has led a lot of people to their doom. I really don't know about other places in the world but I can say for Nigeria 🇳🇬.
The rate of crime has skyrocketed, prostitution is not abnormal anymore, and all these are done to acquire material things and keep up with trend..

Anything that has been seen has expired
My Dad

My dad said that to me on our way out this afternoon on our way out to visit a friend, the meaning was quite deep for me to comprehend, but I thought of it in this manner.

Nothing is really new, the moment it's seen it becomes an old model. The world is constantly evolving.
Shygirl

I would have been like that, having that adrenaline to keep up with trend, but my shyness came through for me(thanks shyness). I had few friends who were trend freaks, they'd come around and show up the latest technology, hairdo, clothing, etc. I would get jealous though, and they'll suggest I do what they were doing(hustling), I succumbed to peer pressure on some occasions and gave it a try but my introvertedness wouldn't allow me go through with it.
I remember when the blackberry phone was in vogue, I remember vividly a lot of girls who almost went crazy with the blackberry frenzy, especially because of their messaging app BBM. Where's is blackberry today, BBM in Nigeria today is the least utilized social media.

What about guys? In Nigeria we call it yahoo-yahoo.
That's like the trending thing for guys, scamming foreigners of their hard earned money, and all for what? To have bragging rights among their fellows

There's no competition in life, even though your hustle is legit, don't spend your hard earned money to do what others are doing so you can be called a title that really has no value.
Logically speaking we can't keep up with trend, because as soon as one pops up today there is an almost immediate remix of it.
At the end of it all CONTENTMENT is key 🔑🔑 to staying away from all these.

Thanks for reading

Shygirl out!!!