You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Wartime Diary. Day N

in #standwithukraine2 years ago (edited)

I have an electricity and my fridge works, so far. But I have some suppy of canned fish, and onion with garlic, of course. I have no flat bread but i have crackers.

Your assertion about bread and plastic have sense, and I can believe it works. In adition, I need to be sure that no one has touched this bread with their bare hands before me. Or, I could bake bread myself.

Sort:  

Now that Russians are further away from Kiev hopefully the lights are going to stay on.

I wonder if you could use a UV light to disinfect bread and other food. I think they actually use it in industrial settings.

https://www.violetdefense.com/blog/2018/9/21/5-ways-that-uv-light-can-help-with-food-safety

https://food.ndtv.com/food-drinks/ultraviolet-light-can-kill-pathogens-in-fruit-1201785

I don't remember where I read it - but some few days ago I read a report that when it comes to bread, human touch is the most significant contributor of mould spores. Wearing gloves when cutting the bread does by average significantly help pushing on the expiry date.

There's a whole microbiome on our skin, so yes, I am sure that too is true.