Artist Statement

in #statement3 years ago

Vyankka (1).jpg





Artist Statement




Art creation should be free of anxieties and frustrations. Comparing it to an orgasm, an artist should feel liberated, intense pleasure, and free of restrictions.

It wasn't that way for this particular artist.


Squirterer was formed as a pseudonym to symbolize this freedom and be used as a reminder to just let the creativity flow.


Her works focuses on self exploration, identity, human experiences and fantasies. Symbols are often used in her narrative works. The most prominent ones are the scribbles on the face.


It's used to convey a loss of one's identity - hence, the figures mostly appear to be traveling, looking for something that was lost. It's also used as a symbol for general anxiety of anticipating the future.






Vyankka 2.jpg







Photos taken by me. I also just want to put my artist statement out here, for the future historians to use. :p
This is the reason why I chose the pseudonym Squirterer. I also still use my real name in signatures, but I use that pseudonym to represent and symbolize my creative freedom... The added "er" in the end is just to make it sound cute and silly instead of the boring "squirter". Haha.


I shouldn't be afraid of creation and what ideas I need to discuss and you shouldn't too.

Sort:  

Yo, love it. The distortion used to whisp away the scribbles is pretty fucking cool. I don't know if my dumb ass explained that right but.. I'm sure you know what I mean. Good work, "squirterer" 😂

Haha yes you explained it well. I find it cool too, glad you did hahah

“for the future historians to use”

I am really happy I am not the only one who thinks like this.

:)

Describing the scribbles opened up my eyes to why I felt so connected with some of your art pieces. The loss of identity that I felt at one point of time resonates with these art pieces deeply.

I am really happy I am not the only one who thinks like this.

Haha I had so many weird stuff posted on the internet when I was a teenager so I don't want to do that mistake again! XD Always best to think ahead haha

Hopefully one day you'll find something that's lost within you. Sometimes I also ask if we truly have lost it or we just failed to recognize its true self. Glad you connect <3