Who does all the Chatting?

in #stats7 years ago

Comments are a great way to get started on Steemit. You can learn how Steemit works and they are also attractive in terms of rewards for users of all levels.

In this post I will show some graphs of the comments during the month of July with the aim of understanding who is commenting, who is chatting, are there any interesting trends in the data.



Who makes all these comments?

Some comments are nothing more than automated bots writing follow me or something similar. Enough said about these. Some analysis excludes these low reputation comments for that reason.

The focus of my analysis today is to look at the profile of the comments during July and to break them down by author reputation.

Screenshot from 2017-08-04 18-12-14.png

A big chunk of comments come from authors with 25 or lower reputation. These are likely new people, bots or trolls but the rest of the comments form a distribution around the reputation 50 mark with a bit of skewed tail going out to the high 70s. There are not many authors with a reputation above 70. Congrats to all the illustrious Steemians in this category.

This next graph looks at how many comments are made splitting the authors into 5 groups, buckets according to their reputation.

Screenshot from 2017-08-04 18-13-01.png

This graph contrasts how how much engagement there are from authors of different reputations and how this has changed over the month.

  • Most comments are in the group 45-56
  • There is a slight downward trend in the group 35-45.

Why comment on Posts?

You can earn money by interacting with this cutting edge social media platform. Interacting can be voting, writing or commenting. I love the fact that even if you do not invest a penny in Steemit you can start earning as soon as you join. Voting doesn't earn you much, particularly if you have no Steem power but with a simple comment on a post you can get an upvote and start earning material rewards. Writing posts isn't for everyone but most people are happy to add a comment to an existing post and join in the conversation.

How have some people so many followers? How do some people get so much for their posts?

One of the answers to these questions is by engaging with other users on the platform. Reading posts and engaging with the authors. You can chat in real time on steemit.chat or on discord but a comment on the blockchain can help you build up your connections.


Recent Related Posts

Data provided by @furion from steemdata.com.


Thank you for reading. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.


Sort:  

Its my first day here trying out Steemit so thanks for the information you put out here. The learning curve here is a bit steep but it seems like a fun social media platform too.

Keep playing around with it @bigbadbillyd I am only here a few days and I have not been disappointed yet

I'm definitely having some fun with it. This is a pretty unique way to do social media

Welcome @bigbadbillyd there are lots of people willing to help out so if you have any questions just ask.

Thanks! from what I can tell the community seems very friendly and supportive. I would hope so given the unique way this platform incentivizes users! Looking forward to being part of it all

Good luck and if you survive for the first 7 days, I'm sure you'll love it a long time :)

I plan to! The people that stick around seem to really enjoy it

Nice data and analysis. Quite many users forget the importance of commenting and new users sometimes miss out the whole commenting thing from the start.

You can't just assume people of similar interest will find you unless you make yourself visible in a positive way.

The other big part of commenting is sharing wisdom and learning new. I've learn much by asking more of the topics discussed in a post and I recommend that everyone asks something or shares some information.

Commenting is definitely key in this crazy world. The comment bots are a little annoying but I have found many to follow and enjoy through good comments

I have too, some people are great and seem to be always online.

I know, I wish I could be online more and I am on a lot. It's an addictive thing!

As a member of the 70s club what advice would you give for new steemians to improve their rep?

My advice is always the same, post regularly and interact with others posts. Over time it makes a difference all that interaction :0)

Lol, the 70's club fair makes me feel old hehe

I agree!

thanks for sharing these stats, interesting to see it.

👍 Thanks @jwolf

wow am new. i just learn abt many thing about steemit with this information. thanx

There are so many posts out there and sometimes it a matter of finding the good quality posts to comment. This is definetely one of them. Thanks

Wow thank you so much.

Interesting post. I always love stats and data!

I wonder if we were to add some sort of smoothing on distribution of authors by rep by day to reflect the % of total users at each level how different these charts would be....

Oh good idea, this would bring out the trends a bit more. I also want to do more detailed analysis on this and subdivide the groups by payout bandings. I want to see where all the dosh is going.

well make sure you ping me in case I miss the posts. Like I said, I love stats....

I have done another post today about comments. You will like it lots of data :)

Comments are great but when people are mass commenting just for the sake of it, it can be annoying and time consuming to reply to. Wouldn't a charge for every following and comment be a good thing. I'm talking about a very small charge maybe 0.001 per comment & follow or less. Surely it wouldn't dramatically slow down all those that do mass following & commenting. Having said that I think more genuine comments & following would make steemit a better place.

I cant imagine these people get much return for their effort.

It would be interesting to see how many comments are "follow me" comments. I am going to post a "Follow Me Index" for Steemit later today.

to me you spoke the truth many won't want to talk much on someones post rather they remind you that they followed and upvoted u some how insisting that you'll do d same for them

When I first started on steemit, I read some etiquette about this and the advice was not to ask for follows or upvotes. Being new to social media at the time, I followed the advice but I see now the reason for it.

It comes across very rude if you spend ages writing an article, agonising over the every word, spell checking, even getting it reviewed by people before posting for someone to come along and (probably not even read it) and just to comment follow me.

In some cases it may be ok to point someone to your work but probably best to engage with their work rather than trying to direct people to your own work. I don't think comments on other peoples posts are a place for self promotion.

Nice statistics @eroch it Gives Some Great Insights

Interesting information. I like the commenting part best.

Good guidance. I practice it by giving a bit comment here. 👍 🙂

Nice one @keuudeip Cheers.

I'm new to Steemit, so this type of information is great to know. Thanks for taking the time to share. Steem on!

makes sense, I'm in that group from 40-55, a lot of good chatter (-:

now i understand reputation. am new here. i wish i can get voted one day

Oh shit, was it me, that spike?

:P

This post received a 2.9% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @eroche! For more information, click here!

This post has received a 3.22 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @eroche.

Nice analysis!