Steem Cartoon : The Story of the Wood Cutter a.k.a. @sireh

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

WC01_Cover.jpg

I find that as I grow older, I constantly remind myself of the lessons and life principles that I have adopted. I draw reference to this link which resonate with what I believe but my narration are entirely my interpretation based on my life experience.

Wood Cutter Story My Reference

The Wood Chopper


WC02.jpg

Sireh is a village boy. He is able bodied and a strong boy and he is in search of a job. One thing that he isn't. He is not lazy. He saw an advertisement for the job of a wood cutter and he thought why not.

WC03.jpg

The interview was a brisk because all the man needed was a strong man. He was given a new axe and some instructions on how to carry out his job. He took the axe and off he went.

WC04.jpg

The first day, he managed to chop down 15 trees. It was hard work but because the axe was new, he was able to hit a good number. He thought to himself, if the first day I can do 15 the next day I will do 20 and it will keep increasing because he will be more experienced.

WC05.jpg

He got his first wage and he was pretty happy. Although the body was aching but he was optimistic. There is no success without hard work, he reminded himself.

'Tomorrow, I will do 20!' he shouted optimistically as he waved goodbye to his new boss.

WC06.jpg

He took the same axe and he went to work. This time its seem harder. He was only able to fall 10 trees. The following day he only managed 5.

WC07.jpg

Sireh was confused and demotivated. He didn't know where he went wrong. He plucked some courage and he asked his boss.

WC08.jpg

His boss said, 'Well, hard work is not always defining. Sometimes you got to equip yourself with the right tool and take a step back.'

Then he added, 'Sharpen your axe boy. That is your tool'

WC09.jpg

Sireh was surprised. He was obsessed with carrying out his job without realising that he has been using a blunt tool. It worked initially because the axe was still sharp. No wonder he has to work harder without getting the result that he wanted.

Gleefully, he did as he was told. He sharpen his axe. He only need half a day to fall 15 trees. That day he went back, less stress on the back and without much ache on the body. He was doing much lesser but has better results.


My Story


The above is my story. Sometimes we tend to think that working hard is all that it takes, but hard work comes together with having the right 'tools' and most of the time this 'tool' is the tricks-of-trade. I have been in this position many times and that was why I think it is best to name the character after myself.

In my life I have many mentors. The people who reminded me to sharpen my 'axe'. I learnt that spending time to acquire the knowledge and know-how is as important as carrying out the task.

WC10.jpg

I am very proud to proclaim that I am not short of people with bigger and sharper axes that taught me how to cut my tree. I had the guidance of my belated father, Datuk Lat, my best buddy @perennial, @abangmie, @travellingartist, Mr.MOY, Mr.Ujang and others that we instrumental in my career and in my life. I will never forget their contribution and I am ever grateful.

I teach my students the same lessons that I had learnt. Always get the right tool and make sure your axe is sharp before carrying out the task.



credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

Well said @sireh. There is a say in Chinese proverb where "You need to sharpen the tools I'm order to smoothen your work".

Exactly... the task is going to be easier if we equip ourselves with the right knowledge...

@sireh, very true. It is indeed the right mindset we should carry out in life no matter what we did. Hardworking alone is still not enough nowadays. It is the extra miles that we see a different view.

Yup!... i believe trying hard is not the only way... if the result is not shown... there are many other ways we could explore... try smarter... 😊

Im a fan of ur strokes :)
Good lesson for us all

Thank you for visiting my blog...

Great cartoon, and the great story behind it. Life is a constant learning and we hope you will share many of your stories in future...

Thank you... yup!... never stop learning...
If time permitted... i will share more... cheers!

Very inspiring man. Nice story as well as the emotions shown on your drawing.

Thank you man... i'm also having fun drawing it... hey! Thanks for visiting...

Love the cartoon work and the story! This is a very good story. I feel like as an artist, sharpening your axe means sharpening your mind. We work hard all day, but we need to take the time to sharpen our minds and learn new skills as well.

Yes... its true... learning and practicing our craft is how we sharpen our skill... reading, traveling and equip ourselves with the right knowledge is how we sharpening our mind...

:D Good story and beautiful toon strip!

Thank you... apreciate the appreciation...

I thought this post was going to be about making woodcuts:
https://infogalactic.com/info/Woodcut

I've been looking at making linocuts recently. The same advice applies: "Sharpen your gouges." LOL!

Linocut... wow!... love this printmaking art...
Had the chance of learning this when i was in my art school... the process requires high disciplin...

Hi Sireh, I definaterly agree with your story and I was very inspired from your posting. thank you ! and all the best!

Tq... btw... i see u're new in this platform. Don't vote posting that exceed 7 days ya... u will waste your vote. Both upvoter and author will not get any reward.

oh...I see, good to know, will vote for your upcoming posts then! Thanks Sireh!